archive of soloists

Johan Botha

Johan Botha

Johan Botha belongs to the most important singers of our time and performs continuously at the most important opera houses worldwide.

The South African Tenor studied in his native country and made his debut in Roodeport, before he moved to Europe in 1990, where his international carrier quickly developed. Amongst others he performed at the State Operas in Berlin, Dresden, Hamburg and Munich, at the Gran Teatro del Liceu, at Lyric Opera Chicago, at Royal Opera House Covent Garden, in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Teatro alla Scala, at Opera Bastille and Théâtre Châtelet in Paris, Sydney and at the Salzburger Festspiele.

He regularly performs at Metropolitan Opera and Wiener Staatsoper, where he made his debut in 1996 and has sung Strauss’ Daphne and Frau ohne Schatten, Mascagni’s Cavalleria rusticana and Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci, Verdi’s Don Carlo, Vespri Siciliani, Aida and Otello, Beethoven’s Fidelio, Wagner’s Lohengrin, Parsifal, Die Walküre, Meistersinger von Nürnberg, Der fliegende Holländer and Tannhäuser, Puccini’s Tosca and Turandot amongst others. In summer 2010 Johan Botha made his debut at the Bayreuth Festival.

Apart from his opera appearances he regularly sings at concert stages all over the world and collaborates with the most prestigious conductors such as Abbado, Barenboim, Boulez, Bychkov, de Billy, Dohnany, Gatti, Gergiev, Jansons, Levine, Maazel, Pappano, Petrenko, Welser-Möst, Thielemann and Young.

In 2004 Johan Botha was awarded with the title Kammersänger. In June 2012 Johan Botha has been appointed ambassador of the Blue-Shield-Foundation.

Solisten-Archiv

Johan Botha

Johan Botha

Johan Botha zählt zu den bedeutendsten Sängern unserer Zeit und tritt regelmäßig an allen wichtigen Häusern und Festivals der Welt auf.

Nach dem Studium in seiner Heimat und dem Debüt in Roodeport kam er 1990 nach Europa, wo sich seine internationale Karriere nach ersten Engagements in Deutschland schnell entwickelte. So gastiert er u. a. an den Staatsopern in Berlin, Dresden, Hamburg und München, am Gran Teatro del Liceu, an der Lyric Opera Chicago, am Royal Opera House Covent Garden, an der Los Angeles und San Francisco Opera, der Mailänder Scala, der Opera Bastille und am Théâtre Châtelet in Paris sowie an der Sydney Opera und bei den Salzburger Festspielen.

Er ist regelmäßig an der Metropolitan Opera und der Wiener Staatsoper zu Gast, welcher er seit seinem Debüt 1996 eng verbunden ist und wo er u.a. Strauss’ Daphne und Frau ohne Schatten, Mascagnis Cavalleria rusticana und Leoncavallos Pagliacci, Verdis Don Carlo, Vespri Siciliani, Aida und Otello, Beethovens Fidelio, Wagners Lohengrin, Parsifal, Die Walküre, Meistersinger von Nürnberg, Der fliegende Holländer und Tannhäuser, Puccinis Tosca und Turandot, gesungen hat. Im Sommer 2010 debütierte Johan Botha mit Siegmund bei den Bayreuther Festspielen.

Neben Opernauftritten ist Johan Botha auch regelmäßig auf den großen Konzertpodien der Welt zu erleben und arbeitet mit allen bedeutenden Dirigenten unserer Zeit (Abbado, Barenboim, Boulez, Bychkov, de Billy, Dohnany, Gatti, Gergiev, Jansons, Levine, Maazel, Pappano, Petrenko, Welser-Möst, Thielemann, Young, u.v.a.).

Seit 2004 ist Johan Botha Österreichischer Kammersänger. Seit Juni 2012 ist Johan Botha Botschafter der Blue-Shield-Foundation.