archive of soloists

Konrad Junghänel

Konrad Junghänel

Konrad Junghänel is one of the leading conductors in the field of Early Music. He began his career as internationally renowned lutenist. Since the period of his studies in Cologne he has regularly collaborated as an instrumentalist with René Jacobs – for recitals and opera productions – and other well-known ensembles such as Les Arts Florissants, La Petite Bande or Musica Antiqua Köln, being praised for his extraordinary virtuosity. Both as a soloist and a member of chamber music ensembles, Konrad Junghänel has appeared throughout Europe, in the USA, Japan, South America and Africa. For his recordings of the complete lute works by J.S. Bach as well as the works for lute solo by S.L.Weiss he was internationally awarded. Since 1994 Konrad Junghänel has a professorship at the state conservatory of music in Cologne. In 1987, his continuous work in the field of the baroque vocal music brought Konrad Junghänel to found the soloistic vocal ensemble Cantus Cölln, that nowadays is one of the most esteemed ensembles of its kind worldwide. (www.cantuscoelln.com)

For more than a decade, Konrad Junghänel is appearing as much requested guest conductor in Germany and abroad, for concerts and mainly for scenic productions of the baroque and early classical period. The result of his intense rehearsal work with specialized baroque ensemble as well as with modern orchestras is unanimously recognized. Critics outline the vibrating tempi, dramatic expressiveness of his interpretation and the sounds, both slim and rich of colour, of the ensembles he conducts. In a poll of the renowned German newspaper »Welt am Sonntag« Konrad Junghänel was nominated by the critics as best conductor of the opera season 2010/2011 in the region of Northrhine-Westfalia.

The production Combattimenti, with madrigals by Claudio Monteverdi (direction Geoffrey Layton), ran at the Internationale Reisopera of the Netherlands and Belgium for three years. This production was followed by Francesco Cavalli’s La Calisto (direction Igor Folwill) in Cologne and Domenico Mazzocchis La Catena d’Adone (direction Jakob Peters-Messer) in Innsbruck and Antwerp. At the theater of Basel Konrad Junghänel conducted Wie liegt die Stadt so wüste with music by Heinrich Schütz just as the Händel-Oratory Israel in Egypt, both directed by Herbert Wernicke, at the Staatsoper Hamburg Ein geistliches Bankett, a scenic production of Bach cantatas (direction Ingrid von Wantoch Rekowski) and at the Staatsoper Hannover Purcell’s Hail! Bright Cecilia. At the Theater Basel followed Händels Semele (direction Karin Beier), Monteverdis L’Incoronazione di Poppea and Rameaus Les Paladins (direction Nigel Lowery). At the Handelfestspiele Göttingen 2006 he made his debut with Handel’s opera Poro (direction Igor Folwill). In autumne 2006 Konrad Junghänel conducted Mozart’s Così fan tutte in Potsdam (direction Uwe Eric Laufenberg), followed by the Florentiner Intermedien (direction Nigel Lowery) at the Saarländisches Staatstheater Saarbrücken in April 2007 as well as Mozart’s Lucio Silla at the Staatsoper Stuttgart (direction Olga Motta) in November. In April 2008 he will be directing Händel’s Agrippina (direction: Peter Lund), again in Saarbrücken. After a further Mozart-Premiere in Potsdam in September 2008: Die Entführung aus dem Serail (direction Uwe Eric Laufenberg) he was much celebrated as musical director of the new production of Christoph Willibald Gluck’s Armida (direction: Calixto Bieito) at the Komische Oper Berlin in April 2009. In the same year there followed Händel’s Teseo (direction: Igor Bauersima) at the Staatsoper Stuttgart as well as his debut at the Cologne Opera with a further Gluck-Premiere: Orfeo ed Euridice (direction: Johannes Erath). 2010 started by Rameau’s Les Paladins (direction: Arila Siegert) at Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf/Duisburg, followed by Purcell’s Dido und Aeneas at the Saarländisches Staatstheater Saarbrücken. In autumn, the premieres of Monteverdi’s L’Incoronazione di Poppea (october, direction: Dietrich Hilsdorf) and Mozart’s Die Entführung aus dem Serail (november, direction: Uwe Eric Laufenberg), initialized a Monteverdi-cycle as well as aMozart-cycle under his musical direction at the Cologne Opera.

In January 2011, he directed Rameau’s Platée (direction: Karoline Gruber) at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf/Duisburg (January 2011) as well as La Clemenza di Tito (October 2011, direction: Uwe Eric Laufenberg) and Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria (February 2012, direction: Bernd Mottl) at the Cologne Opera. With the successful production of G.F. Händel’s Xerxes at the Komische Oper Berlin (May 2012, direction: Stefan Herheim) Konrad Junghänel also gave guest performances in Bergen, Norway. His last celebrated productions were Händel’s Jephta in Potsdam (November 2013, direction: Lydia Steier) and Hasse’s Leucippo at the Schwetzinger Festspiele (May 2014, direction: Tatjana Gürbaca). Further works amongst others in Berlin, Graz andWiesbaden are being prepared.

Solisten-Archiv

Konrad Junghänel

Konrad Junghänel

KONRAD JUNGHÄNEL gehört zu den führenden Dirigenten auf dem Gebiet der Alten Musik. Er begann seine Karriere als international gefragter Lautenist. Bereits während des Studiums in Köln entstand die erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem für seine Virtuosität gerühmten Instrumentalisten und dem Countertenor René Jacobs und mit Ensembles wie Les Arts Florissants, La Petite Bande, Musica Antiqua Köln. Als Solist wie auch in kammermusikalischen Formationen trat Konrad Junghänel überall in Europa auf, in den USA, in Japan, Australien, Südamerika und Afrika. Für seine Aufnahmen der gesamten Lautenwerke J.S. Bachs und von Solowerken Silvius Leopold Weiss’ wurde er mit internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Seit 1994 ist er Professor an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik in Köln. Die fortgesetzte Beschäftigung mit der vokalen Musik des Barock führte Junghänel 1987 zur Gründung des Vokalensembles Cantus Cölln, das heute zu den angesehensten Ensembles dieser Art im internationalen Musikleben gehört. (www.cantuscoelln.com)

 

Seit über einem Jahrzehnt ist Konrad Junghänel gefragter Gastdirigent im In- und Ausland, im Konzertbetrieb und vor allem bei Opernproduktionen des Barock und der frühen Klassik. Das Resultat seiner intensiven Probenarbeit mit spezialisierten Barockorchestern wie auch mit modernen Klangkörpern findet einhelliges Echo in der Kritik. Hervorgehoben werden die pulsierenden Tempi, die ausdrucksstarken Spannungsbögen seiner Interpretation sowie die schlanke und farbenreiche Klanggebung der von ihm geleiteten Ensembles. In einer Kritikerumfrage der »Welt am Sonntag« wurde Konrad Junghänel zum besten Dirigenten der Opernspielzeit 2010/2011 in Nordrhein-Westfalen gekürt.

Drei Jahre lang lief die Produktion Combattimenti mit Madrigalen von Claudio Monteverdi (Regie Geoffrey Layton) an der Nationalen Reisopera von Holland und Belgien. Es folgte Francesco Cavallis La Calisto (Regie Igor Folwill) in Köln und Domenico Mazzocchis La Catena d’Adone (Regie Jakob Peters-Messer) in Innsbruck und Antwerpen. Am Theater Basel dirigierte er Wie liegt die Stadt so wüste mit Musik von Heinrich Schütz, sowie das Händel-Oratorium Israel in Egypt, beides unter der Regie von Herbert Wernicke, an der Staatsoper Hamburg Ein geistliches Bankett, eine szenische Produktion von Bach-Kantaten (Regie Ingrid von Wantoch Rekowski) und an der Staatsoper Hannover Purcells Hail! Bright Cecilia. Am Theater Basel folgte Händels Semele (Regie Karin Beier), Monteverdis L’Incoronazione di Poppea und Rameaus Les Paladins (Regie Nigel Lowery). Bei den Göttinger Händelfestspielen 2006 debütierte er mit Händels Oper Poro (Regie Igor Folwill) und leitete im Herbst desselben Jahres in Potsdam Mozarts Così fan tutte (Regie Uwe Eric Laufenberg). Im April 2007 dirigierte Konrad Junghänel am Saarländischen Staatstheater Saarbrücken die Premiere der Florentiner Intermedien (Regie: Nigel Lowery) sowie im November desselben Jahres Mozarts Lucio Silla (Regie: Olga Motta) an der Staatsoper Stuttgart. Im Februar 2008 stand die Premiere von Händels Agrippina (Regie: Peter Lund) am Saarländischen Staatstheater Saarbrücken auf dem Programm. Nach einer weiteren Mozart-Premiere mit Die Entführung aus dem Serail (Regie Uwe Eric Laufenberg) im September 2008 in Potsdam feierte Konrad Junghänel im April 2009 einen außerordentlichen Erfolg als Musikalischer Leiter der Neuproduktion von Glucks »Armida« an der Komischen Oper Berlin (Regie: Calixto Bieito). Im selben Jahr folgten Händels Teseo an der Staatsoper Stuttgart (Regie: Igor Bauersima) sowie mit Orfeo ed Euridice (Regie: Johannes Erath), ebenfalls von Gluck, Junghänels Debüt an der Oper Köln. Im Januar 2010 machten Rameaus Les Paladins (Regie: Arila Siegert) an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf/Duisburg den Auftakt, gefolgt von Purcells Dido und Aeneas am Saarländischen Staatstheater Saarbrücken. Im Herbst begannen mit den Premieren von Monteverdis L’Incoronazione di Poppea (Oktober, Regie: Dietrich Hilsdorf) und Mozarts Die Entführung aus dem Serail (November, Regie: Uwe Eric Laufenberg) ein Monteverdi- und ein Mozart-Zyklus an der Oper Köln unter seiner musikalischer Leitung. Im Januar 2011 leitete Konrad Junghänel musikalisch die Premiere von Rameaus Platée (Regie: Karoline Gruber) an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf/Duisburg (Januar 2011) sowie La Clemenza di Tito (Oktober 2011, Regie: Uwe Eric Laufenberg)und Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria (Februar 2012, Regie: Bernd Mottl) an der Oper Köln. Mit der gefeierten Inszenierung von G.F. Händels Xerxes an der Komischen Oper Berlin (Mai 2012, Regie: Stefan Herheim) gastierte Konrad Junghänel auch in Bergen, Norwegen. Zu seinen letzten erfolgreichen Produktionen gehören Händels Jephta in Potsdam (November 2013, Regie: Lydia Steier) und Hasses Leucippo bei den Schwetzinger Festspielen (Mai 2014, Regie: Tatjana Gürbaca). Weitere Premieren u.a. in Berlin, Graz und Wiesbaden sind in Vorbereitung.