archive of soloists

Lioba Braun

Lioba Braun

The international career of mezzo soprano Lioba Braun took a quite spectacular turn in 1994, when she jumped in at short notice to sing Brangäne in Tristan und Isolde at the Bayreuth Festival with Daniel Barenboim conducting. Subsequently she was invited to sing this and other Wagner roles (Kundry/Parsifal, Ortrud/Lohengrin, Fricka and Götterdämmerung-Waltraute/Ring, Venus/Tannhäuser, recently also Isolde/Tristan, i.a. with Andris Nelsons in Birmingham and Paris) by Europe’s main opera companies, such as the Scala in Milan, Teatro Real in Madrid, Liceu in Barcelona and the state operas of Berlin, Dresden, Leipzig, Munich, Stuttgart, Zurich, Rome, Los Angeles, Vienna and many other internationally renowned houses.

She has performed her opera roles, which comprise next to Wagner and Verdi (Eboli, Azucena) i. a. Bartok (Judith/Blaubart), Strauss (Komponist/Ariadne auf Naxos, Amme/Frau ohne Schatten, Marschallin ) and Mozart (Donna Elvira/Don Giovanni) as well as the great solo parts of Mahler’s symphonies and works of Berg, Brahms and Beethoven (i.a. at Wiener Musikvereinssaal, Festpielhaus Baden-Baden, Salzburger Festspiele, Dresdner Musikfestspiele, at the Pope in Rome, Berlin Philharmonie) under the baton of such famous conductors as Christian Thielemann, Mariss Jansons, Andris Nelsons, Zubin Metha, Daniel Barenboim, Riccardo Chailly, Claudio Abbado, Christoph Eschenbach, Lorin Maazel, Myung-Whun Chung, Kent Nagano, Giuseppe Sinopoli, Sir Simon Rattle and Riccardo Muti, to name but a few.

Her cooperation with highly considerable orchestras includes i.a. Berliner Philharmonic, Concertgebouw¬Orchester Amsterdam, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Staatskapelle Dresden and Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks.

Next to her ongoing creative career Lioba Braun has also been appointed Professor for singing at Hochschule fuer Musik und Tanz in Cologne in 2010 and at Hochschule fuer Musik und Theater in Munich in 2011.

Lioba Braun made several CD recordings, among those »Lioba Braun singt Wagner« (Sony 2005) conducted by Peter Schneider, Mozart’s Requiem conducted by Christian Thielemann (Deutsche Grammophon 2006), Mahler’s 2nd and 8th Symphony conducted by Jonathan Nott (Tudor 2009/2011); as well as the Altrhapsodie by Brahms with Helmuth Rilling (Hännsler 2006).

Solisten-Archiv

Lioba Braun

Lioba Braun

Die internationale Karriere der Mezzosopranistin Lioba Braun begann, als sie 1994 bei den Bayreuther Festspielen die Brangäne in »Tristan und Isolde« unter Daniel Barenboim übernahm. Diese und andere Wagner-Partien (Kundry/Parsifal, Ortrud/Lohengrin, Fricka und Götterdämmerungs-Waltraute/Ring, Venus/Tannhäuser, neuerdings auch Isolde/Tristan, u.a. unter Andris Nelsons in Birmingham und Paris) sang sie seitdem u.a. an der Mailänder Scala, dem Tea¬tro Real in Madrid und am Liceu in Barcelona ebenso wie in Berlin, Dresden, Leipzig, München, Stuttgart, Zürich, Rom, Los Angeles und an der Wiener Staatsoper.

Ihre Opernrollen, neben Wagner und Verdi (Eboli, Azucena) u.a. auch von Bartok (Judith/Blaubart), Strauss (Komponist/Ariadne auf Naxos, Amme/Frau ohne Schatten, Marschallin/Rosenkavalier) und Mozart (Donna Elvira/Don Giovanni) wie auch die großen Solopartien in den Symphonien Gustav Mahlers und in Werken u.a. von Berg, Brahms und Beethoven (u.a. im Wiener Musikvereinssaal, im Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, bei den Salzburger Festspielen und den Dresdner Musikfestspielen, beim Papst in Rom und in der Berliner Philharmonie), sang und singt sie unter so namhaften Dirigenten wie Christian Thielemann, Mariss Jansons, Andris Nelsons, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim, Riccardo Chailly, Claudio Abbado, Christoph Eschenbach, Lorin Maazel, Myung-Whun Chung, Kent Nagano, Giuseppe Sinopoli, Sir Simon Rattle und Riccardo Muti, um nur einige zu nennen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit namhaften Orchestern umfasst unter anderem die Berliner Philharmoniker, das Concertgebouw Orkest Amsterdam, das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, die Staatskapelle Dresden und das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks.

Seit Oktober 2010 ist Lioba Braun neben ihrer sängerischen Tätigkeit Professorin für Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln und an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in München.

Lioba Braun hat verschiedene CD-Aufnahmen gemacht, darunter »Lioba Braun singt Wagner« (SONY 2005) unter der Leitung von Peter Schneider, Mozarts Requiem unter Christian Thielemann (Deutsche Grammophon 2006), Mahlers 2.und 8. Symphonie unter Jonathan Nott (Tudor 2009/2011), sowie die Altrhapsodie von Brahms mit Helmuth Rilling (Hänssler 2006).