archive of soloists

Rieko Yoshizumi

Rieko Yoshizumi

Professor Rieko Yoshizumi wins over her audience with her sensitive and elegant interpretations of wisely chosen pieces as well as her charming demeanour, introducing the public to her music through short but precise explanations. Born in Japan, she took her first piano classes at age four. She studied piano and music education at the Tokyo University of the Arts. Apart from playing the piano, she did also learn how to play the harpsichord and took song accompaniment classes. During her studies, she was part of rock band.

A postgraduate course at the University of Music Detmold brought her to Germany. She took her concert exam for piano in the soloist class with Friedrich Wilhelm Schnurr and studied with Roberto Szidon. Together with her fellow students, Peruvian violinist Carlos Johnson and German cellist Clemens Krüger, she founded the trio Tre Mondi, interpreting pieces from classical to contemporary music on stages in Germany, Europa and South America.  

As a soloist, she made guest appearances with several orchestras, such as the Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen, the Berliner Virtuosen and the Detmolder Solisten, performing in Europe, Japan, Peru and the Lebanon. Various CD and radio productions show her creative work in the field of chamber music. In addition, she regularly follows invitations to international music festivals and concert series in Europe, Asia and South America.

Yoshizumi’s broad repertoire includes works by Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Brahms, Tchaikovsky, Dvorák, Ravel, Villa-Lobos and Shostakovitch as well as by contemporary composers such as Hans-Josef Winkler, Alejandro Bisetti and Toshiro Mayuzumi. She is especially fond of the romanticism.

After graduating, Rieko Yoshizumi obtained a lectureship at the University of Music Detmold. Since 1994, she has also been teaching at the Carl Maria von Weber College of Music Dresden, where she was appointed professor in 2000. She does also give master classes in piano and chamber music in Spain, Peru and Japan.

Solisten-Archiv

Rieko Yoshizumi

Rieko Yoshizumi

Prof. Rieko Yoshizumi gewinnt ihre Zuhörer durch ihre einfühlsame und elegante Spielweise gut ausgewählter Stücke sowie ihr charmantes Auftreten. Mit kurzen präzisen Erläuterungen führt sie das Publikum in ihre Musik ein. Die gebürtige Japanerin erhielt ihren ersten Klavierunterricht im Alter von vier Jahren. Nach dem Besuch eines Musikgymnasiums studierte sie Klavier und Musikpädagogik an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Kunst und Musik in Tokio. Als weiteres Instrument lernte sie Cembalo. Sie besuchte darüber hinaus Kurse in Liedbegleitung. Als Studentin gehörte sie einer Rockband an.

Ein Aufbaustudium an der Hochschule für Musik in Detmold führte sie nach Deutschland. Bei Friedrich Wilhelm Schnurr legte sie das Konzertexamen für Klavier in der Solistenklasse ab. Unterricht nahm sie auch bei Roberto Szidon.

Mit ihren beiden Kommilitonen, dem peruanischen Geiger Carlos Johnson und dem deutschen Cellisten Clemens Krieger, gründete sie das Trio Tre Mondi. Die drei Musiker spielen Werke von Klassik bis zeitgenössischer Musik in Deutschland, Europa und Südamerika und haben verschiedene CDs aufgenommen.

Als Solistin gastierte sie mit verschiedenen Orchestern, u. a. der Württembergischen Philharmonie Reutlingen, den Berliner Virtuosen und den Detmolder Solisten, in Europa, Japan, Peru und dem Libanon. Von ihrem kammermusikalischen Schaffen zeugen verschiedene CD- und Rundfunkproduktionen gemeinsam mit den Professoren Carneiro, David, Georgian und Poppen. Sie folgt regelmäßig Einladungen zu internationalen Musikfestivals und Konzertreihen in Europa, Asien und Südamerika.

Zu ihrem umfangreichen Repertoire gehören neben Werken von Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Brahms, Tschaikowsky, Dvorák, Ravel, Villa-Lobos und Schostakowitsch auch zeitgenössische Werke wie z. B. von Hans-Josef Winkler, AIejandro Bisetti und Toshiro Mayuzumi. Ihre besondere Liebe gilt der Romantik.

Im Anschluss an ihr Studium erhielt sie an der Detmolder Hochschule für Musik einen Lehrauftrag. Seit 1994 unterrichtet sie auch an der Hochschule für Musik „Carl Maria von Weber“ in Dresden, im Jahr 2000 wurde sie von dieser zur Professorin ernannt. Sie gibt in Spanien, Japan und Peru Meisterkurse in Klavier und Kammermusik.