Marek Janowski

Chief Conductor and Artistic Director

Marek Janowski © Andreas Pein

Marek Janowski © Andreas Pein

Marek Janowski came to the Dresden Philharmonic for the first time as Chief conductor from 2001 to 2003. Already at this time, he impressed by offering unusual and ambitious programmes. Marek Janowski became the Chief conductor and Artistic director of the Dresden Philharmonic for the second time in the 2019-20 concert season.

Born in 1939 in Warsaw, raised and educated in Germany, Marek Janowski can look back on an extensive and successful career both as opera conductor and as head of major concert orchestras. His artistic path led him, after his years as assistant and chief conductor in Aachen, Cologne, Düsseldorf and Hamburg, to Freiburg i. Br. and Dortmund as general music director. From the Metropolitan Opera New York and the Bavarian State Opera Munich, from Chicago, San Francisco, Hamburg, Vienna, Berlin to Paris, he was a regular guest in the major international opera houses since the late 1970s.

On the concert circuit, on which he has concentrated since the late 1990s, he continues the great German conducting tradition. He was Chief conductor of the Rundfunk-Sinfonie­orchester Berlin (RSB) from 2002 to 2016. Prior to that and sometimes simultaneously, he served, inter alia, as the Music director of the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande (2005–2012), of the Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo (2000–2005) and of the Orchestre Philhar­monique de Radio France (1984–2000), which he developed into France’s top orchestra. In addition, he headed up the Gürzenich Orchestra in Cologne for several years (1986–1990).

Around the world, Marek Janowski is considered an outstanding Beethoven, Schumann, Brahms, Bruckner and Strauss conductor, as well as an expert in the French repertoire. More than 50 recordings, awarded in most cases international prizes – including several complete opera recordings and complete symphonic cycles – have been contributing for more than 35 years to making Marek Janowski’s particular skills as a conductor internationally known.

One special focus for him is Richard Wagner’s ten operas and music dramas, which he performed in concert performances with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, the Rund­funk­chor Berlin and international soloists in the Philhar­monie Berlin between 2010 and 2013.  All concerts were released on CD by Pentatone in cooperation with Deutschland­radio. For Wagner, Marek Janowski returned once again to an opera house, conducting the “Ring” at the Bayreuth Festival in 2016 and 2017. In the years 1980 to 1983 he had already recorded this cycle with the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden. From 2014 to 2017, he was invited by the NHK Symphony (Japan’s most important orchestra) to Tokyo to conduct concert performan­ces of Wagner’s “Ring” tetralogy.

A number of recordings with Maestro Janowski conducting the Dresden Philharmonic have already been made, such as the one-act operas “Cavalleria rusticana” and “Il Tabarro” by Mascagni and Puccini respectively, as well as Beethoven’s “Fidelio”, also recorded by the Pentatone label.

Marek Janowski

Chefdirigent

Marek Janowski © Andreas Pein

Marek Janowski © Andreas Pein

Zur Dresdner Philharmonie kam Marek Janowski das erste Mal als Chefdirigent von 2001 bis 2003. Bereits in dieser Zeit überzeugte er durch ungewöhnliche und anspruchsvolle Pro­gram­me. Mit der Konzertsaison 2019/2020 kehrt er als Chefdirigent und künstlerischer Leiter zur Dresdner Philharmonie zurück.

1939 geboren in Warschau, aufgewachsen und ausgebildet in Deutschland, blickt Marek Janowski auf eine umfangreiche und erfolgreiche Laufbahn sowohl als Operndirigent als auch als künstlerischer Leiter bedeutender Konzertorchester zurück. Sein künstlerischer Weg führte nach Assistenten- und Kapellmeisterjahren in Aachen, Köln, Düsseldorf und Hamburg als GMD nach Freiburg i. Br. und Dortmund. Es gibt zwischen der Metropolitan Opera New York und der Bayerischen Staatsoper München, zwischen Chicago, San Francisco, Hamburg, Wien, Berlin und Paris kein Opernhaus von Weltruf, an dem er seit den späten 1970er Jahren nicht regelmäßig zu Gast war.

Im Konzertbetrieb, auf den er sich seit den späten 1990er Jahren konzentriert, führt er die große deutsche Dirigententradition fort. Von 2002 bis 2016 war er Chefdirigent des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters Berlin (RSB). Zuvor und teilweise parallel amtierte er u. a. als Chefdirigent des Orchestre de la Suisse Romande (2005–2012), des Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo (2000–2005) und des Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France (1984–2000), das er zum Spitzenorchester Frankreichs entwickelte. Außerdem war er mehrere Jahre Chef am Pult des Gürzenich-Orchesters in Köln (1986–1990).

Weltweit gilt Marek Janowski als herausragender Beethoven-, Schumann-, Brahms-, Bruckner- und Strauss-Dirigent, aber auch als Fachmann für das französische Repertoire. Mehr als 50 zumeist mit internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnete Schallplatten – darunter mehrere Operngesamtaufnahmen und komplette sinfonische Zyklen – tragen seit über 35 Jahren dazu bei, die besonderen Fähigkeiten Marek Janowskis als Dirigent international bekannt zu machen.

Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt bilden für ihn die zehn Opern und Musikdramen Richard Wagners, die er mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, dem Rundfunkchor Berlin und einer Phalanx von internationalen Solisten zwischen 2010 und 2013 in der Berliner Philhar­monie konzertant realisierte. Sämtliche Konzerte wurden in Kooperation mit Deutschland­radio von Pentatone auf SACD veröffentlicht. Für Wagner kehrte Marek Janowski auch noch einmal in ein Opernhaus zurück und leitete 2016 und 2017 den „Ring“ bei den Bayreuther Festspielen. Bereits in den Jahren 1980 bis 1983 hatte er diesen Zyklus mit der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden für die Schallplatte eingespielt. Für die Jahre 2014 bis 2017 wurde er vom NHK Symphony (dem bedeutendsten Orchester Japans) eingeladen, in Tokio Wagners Tetralogie konzertant zu dirigieren. Ebenfalls mit diesem Orchester wird er im Frühjahr 2020 Wagners „Tristan und Isolde“ und 2021 dessen „Parsifal“ aufführen.

Nach „Cavalleria rusticana“ und „Il Tabarro“, den beiden Einaktern von Mascagni und Puccini, die er mit der Dresdner Philharmonie bereits aufgenommen hat, entsteht in der Saison 2019/2020 eine Aufnahme von Beethovens „Fidelio“ für das Label Pentatone.

Aktuelle Konzerte