Dresden Philharmonic © Monika Rittershaus/Simon Pauly

Dresden Philharmonic © Monika Rittershaus/Simon Pauly

The Dresden Philharmonic can look back on 150 years of history as the orchestra of Saxony’s capital Dresden. When the so-called “Gewerbehaussaal” opened on 29 November 1870, the citizens of the city were given the opportunity to organize major orchestra concerts. Philharmonic concerts were held regularly starting in 1885; the orchestra adopted its present name in 1923. In its first decades, composers such as Brahms, Tchaikovsky, Dvořák and Strauss conducted the Dresden Philharmonic with their own works. The first desks were presided over by outstanding concertmasters such as Stefan Frenkel, Simon Goldberg and the cellists Stefan Auber and Enrico Mainardi. From 1934, Carl Schuricht and Paul van Kempen led the orchestra; van Kempen in particular guided the Dresden Philharmonic to top achievements. All of Bruckner’s symphonies were first performed in their original versions, which earned the orchestra the reputation of a “Bruckner orchestra” and brought renowned guest conductors such as Hermann Abendroth, Eduard van Beinum, Fritz Busch, Eugen Jochum, Joseph Keilbert, Erich Kleiber, Hans Knappertsbusch and Franz Konwitschny to the rostrum.

After 1945 and into the 1990s, Heinz Bongartz, Horst Förster, Kurt Masur (from 1994 also honorary conductor), Günther Herbig, Herbert Kegel, Jörg-Peter Weigle and Michel Plasson were the principal conductors. In recent years, conductors such as Marek Janowski, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos and Michael Sanderling have shaped the orchestra. With the beginning of the 2019-20 season, Marek Janowski rejoins the Dresden Philharmonic as principal conductor and artistic director.

Its home is the highly modern concert hall inaugurated in April 2017 in the Kulturpalast building in the heart of the historic old town. In romantic repertoire, the orchestra has preserved its very own “Dresden sound”. Furthermore, it is characterised by a flexibility in sound and style for the music of the Baroque and First Viennese School, as well as for modern works.

World premieres continue to play an important part in the orchestra’s programmes. Guest performances in major concert halls around the world demonstrate the high esteem enjoyed by the Dresden Philharmonic in the world of classical music. High-calibre education and family formats round off the offer for young people; the youngest concertgoers are brought into contact with classical music by attending rehearsals and school concerts. The orchestra supports young musical talent in the Kurt Masur Academy.

The Philharmonic’s discography, which has been growing since 1937, also testifies to their broad spectrum. A new climax was reached with the CD cycle conducted by Michael Sanderling dedicated to the complete symphonies of Dmitri Shostakovich and Ludwig van Beethoven (Sony Classical).

Dresdner Philharmonie © Monika Rittershaus/Simon Pauly

Dresdner Philharmonie © Monika Rittershaus/Simon Pauly

Die Dresdner Philharmonie blickt als Orchester der Landeshauptstadt Dresden auf eine 150-jährige Geschichte zurück. Mit der Eröffnung des so genannten „Gewerbehaussaal“ am 29. November 1870 erhielt die Bürgerschaft Gelegenheit zur Organisation großer Orchesterkonzerte. Ab 1885 wurden regelmäßig Philharmonische Konzerte veranstaltet, bis sich das Orchester 1923 seinen heutigen Namen gab. In den ersten Jahrzehnten standen Komponisten wie Brahms, Tschaikowski, Dvořák und Strauss mit eigenen Werken am Pult der Dresdner Philharmonie. An den ersten Pulten saßen herausragende Konzertmeister wie Stefan Frenkel, Simon Goldberg oder die Cellisten Stefan Auber und Enrico Mainardi. Carl Schuricht und Paul van Kempen leiteten ab 1934 das Orchester; besonders van Kempen führte die Dresdner Philharmonie zu Spitzenleistungen. Sämtliche Bruckner-Sinfonien erklangen erstmals in ihrer Urfassung, was dem Orchester den Ruf eines „Bruckner-Orchesters“ eintrug und namhafte Gastdirigenten wie Hermann Abendroth, Eduard van Beinum, Fritz Busch, Eugen Jochum, Joseph Keilbert, Erich Kleiber, Hans Knappertsbusch und Franz Konwitschny ans Pult brachte.

Nach 1945 bis in die 1990er Jahre waren Heinz Bongartz, Horst Förster, Kurt Masur (seit 1994 auch Ehrendirigent), Günther Herbig, Herbert Kegel, Jörg-Peter Weigle und Michel Plasson als Chefdirigenten tätig. In jüngster Zeit prägten Dirigenten wie Marek Janowski, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos und Michael Sanderling das Orchester. Ab der Saison 2019/2020 kehrt Marek Janowski noch einmal als Chefdirigent und künstlerischer Leiter zur Dresdner Philharmonie zurück.

Ihre Heimstätte ist der im April 2017 eröffnete hochmoderne Konzertsaal im Kulturpalast im Herzen der Altstadt. Im romantischen Repertoire hat sich das Orchester einen ganz eigenen „Dresdner Klang“ bewahrt. Darüber hinaus zeichnet es sich durch eine klangliche und stilistische Flexibilität sowohl für die Musik des Barock und der Wiener Klassik als auch für moderne Werke aus.

Bis heute spielen Uraufführungen eine wichtige Rolle in den Programmen des Orchesters. Gastspiele in den bedeutenden Konzertsälen weltweit zeugen vom hohen Ansehen, das die Dresdner Philharmonie in der Klassikwelt genießt. Hochkarätig besetzte Bildungs- und Familienformate ergänzen das Angebot für junge Menschen; mit Probenbesuchen und Schulkonzerten werden bereits die jüngsten Konzertbesucher an die Welt der klassischen Musik herangeführt. Den musikalischen Spitzennachwuchs fördert das Orchester in der Kurt Masur Akademie.

Von ihrem breiten Spektrum zeugt auch die seit 1937 gewachsene Diskographie der Philharmonie. Ein neuer Höhepunkt wurde mit dem CD-Zyklus unter der Leitung von Michael Sanderling erreicht, der sich sämtlichen Sinfonien von Dmitri Schostakowitsch und Ludwig van Beethoven widmet (Sony Classical).