Kroke

Kroke

In their current works, Kroke, initially associated solely with klezmer music, draw inspiration from ethnic music, using their own improvisations. This way they create their unique style, which floats across borders, forms, and time, which was not only noticed by the audience, but also appreciated by artists around the world. They claim: “From the very beginning, the idea of the band was a continuous search for something new, also within ourselves.”

Kroke is one of the first groups in Poland that went out with their music to the public. The musicians once could be found on the streets and in the clubs of Cracow's Kazimierz district, once the Jewish part of the city. This led to Steven Spielberg, delighted with Kroke's concert, inviting the band to Jerusalem to perform at the Survivors Reunion Ceremony. Thanks to Peter Gabriel, the band took part in the WOMAD Festival in the United Kingdom. 'The Secrets of The Life Tree', performed by Kroke, was featured on the soundtrack of David Lynch's movie Inland Empire. The meeting of Kroke and Nigel Kennedy resulted in a joint work – the 'East Meets East' album.

In 2017, Kroke celebrated their 25th Anniversary and due to this occasion, they released two albums: Traveller and a 2CD compilation 25 – The Best Of which includes the most important pieces from Kroke’s discography. The same year the Polish publishing house Świat Książki released a richly illustrated book on Kroke with the group’s archival photograph’s and interviews with each artist from the band.

Kroke’s 25th Anniversary was also a great celebration with lots of specials concerts all over the world featuring guests with whom the group worked throughout the years such as Zohar Fresco, Anna Maria Jopek and Tomasz Stańko.

Kroke

Kroke

Kroke, ursprünglich ausschließlich mit Klezmer in Verbindung gebracht, lassen sich in ihren neueren Arbeiten von folkloristischer Musik beeinflussen, gemischt mit ihren eigenen Improvisationen. So kreieren sie ihren ganz eigenen Stil, welcher über Grenzen, Formen und Zeit hinwegschwebt, und welcher sowohl beim Publikum, als auch bei Künstlern weltweit beliebt ist. Kroke selbst sagen: „Von Anfang an war die Idee hinter der Band die stetige Suche nach etwas Neuem, auch in uns selbst.“

Kroke waren eine der ersten Bands in Polen, die mit ihrer Musik zum Publikum kam. So konnte den Musikern einst auf den Straßen und in den Clubs des Krakauer Kazimierz-Viertels – früher der jüdische Teil der Stadt – zugehört werden. Das führte dazu, dass Steven Spielberg, begeistert von einem Kroke-Konzert, die Band nach Jerusalem einlud, um bei der Survivors Reunion Ceremony zu spielen. Dank Peter Gabriel war die Band außerdem ein Teil des WOMAD Festivals in Großbritannien. ‚The Secrets of the Life Tree‘, gespielt von Kroke, war auf dem Soundtrack zu David Lynchs Film Inland Empire. Nach einem Treffen mit Nigel Kennedy arbeitete die Gruppe mit letzterem zusammen, dabei entstand das ‚East meets East‘-Album.

2017 feierten Kroke ihr 25-jähriges Jubiläum und veröffentlichten aus diesem Anlass gleich zwei Alben: ‚Traveller‘ und ‚25 – The Best Of‘, welches die wichtigsten Stücke der Band umfasst. Im selben Jahr erschien bei dem polnischen Verlagshaus Świat Książki ein illustriertes Buch über Kroke, welches unter anderem Fotos aus dem Archiv der Band, sowie Interviews mit den Mitgliedern enthält.

Krokes 25-jähriges Jubiläum war ein großes Fest mit vielen besonderen Konzerten weltweit, bei denen Gäste wie Zohar Fresco, Anna Maria Jopek und Tomasz Stańko mitwirkten, mit denen Kroke über die Jahre zusammengearbeitet haben.