archive of soloists

Zhu Changyao

Zhu Changyao

Zhu Changyao is a legendary erhu player and one of China’s most outstanding musicians. He is a councillor at the Chinese Musician Association and member of the executive board of the China Nationalities Orchestra Society, a composer and the Artistic Consultant of the Suzhou Chinese Orchestra.

He started playing the erhu at the age of seven, and, only five years later, was a soloist at the “Nanjing Little Red Flowers”, an ensemble for children. In 1973, he passed the Nanjing University of the Arts entrance examination with flying colours and went on to study under renowned erhu players such as An Hua, Gan Tao, Ma Yode and Chen Yaoxin. While still pursuing his studies, he was already invited for a concert performance that was broadcasted nationwide and during which he impressed the audience with  both, his outstanding technique and his aptitude in adaptation.

As a composer, Changyao was awarded a prize by the Chinese Ministry of Culture; as a musician, he won First Prize at the National Competition for traditional Chinese instruments in 1982, the Jiangsu Literary and Art Award in 1991 and, the same year, was awarded a government scholarship for life.

He is a guest lecturer at the Chinese Conservatory of Music, the Nanjing University Art Institute, the Southeast University and Nanjing Normal University, as well as director of the executive committee of the Jiangsu Performing Arts Group.

Zhu Changyao is a popular musician who has played critically acclaimed concerts in the USA, Great Britain, Germany, France, Italy, Switzerland, Australia, Japan, Singapore, Malaysia, Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau. Each time, his thrilling performances confirm his reputation as a “world class string virtuoso” and “musical treasure”. Each of his gestures expresses the vibe of an anima mundi.

Solisten-Archiv

Zhu Changyao

Zhu Changyao

Zhu Changyao ist ein legendärer Erhu-Spieler und zählt zu den herausragendsten Musikern Chinas. Er ist Ratsmitglied der Chinese Musician Association und Exekutivratsmitglied der China Nationalities Orchestra Society. Außerdem ist er Komponist und künstlerischer Berater des Suzhou Chinese Orchestra.

Mit sieben Jahren begann er, das Erhu-Spiel zu erlernen. Nur fünf Jahre später spielte er als führender Solist im Kinderensemble „Nanjing Little Red Flowers“. 1973 bestand er die Aufnahmeprüfung an die Musikabteilung der Nanjing University of the Arts mit beeindruckenden Noten. Er studierte bei prestigeträchtigen Erhu-Meistern wie An Hua, Gan Tao, Ma Yode und Chen Yaoxin. Noch während seines Studiums wurde er nach Peking zu einer Aufführung von nationalem Rang eingeladen. Er beeindruckte das Publikum nicht nur mit seiner herausragenden Technik, sondern auch mit seiner Begabung für musikalische Arrangements.

Als Komponist gewann er den Preis des chinesischen Kulturministeriums; als Musiker belegte er 1982 den ersten Platz beim nationalen Wettbewerb für traditionelle chinesische Instrumente. 1991 erhielt er den Preis für Literatur und Kunst der Provinz Jiangsu und wurde im selben Jahr mit einem staatlichen Stipendium auf Lebenszeit ausgestattet.

Er ist Gastprofessor am Chinese Conservatory of Music, am Nanjing University Art Institute, an der Southeast University und an der Nanjing Normal University. Zurzeit ist er Direktor im Lenkungsausschuss der Jiangsu Performing Arts Group und künstlerischer Berater des Suzhou Chinese Orchestra.

Zhu Changyao hat als vielgefragter Künstler die USA, Großbritannien, Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, die Schweiz, Australien, Japan, Singapur, Malaysia, Südkorea, Nordkorea und andere Länder, sowie auch Taiwan, Hongkong und Macau besucht und großes Lob des internationalen und nationalen Publikums erhalten. Sein mitreißendes Spiel bestätigt jedes Mal aufs Neue seinen Ruf als „Weltklasse-Streichvirtuose“ und „musikalische Kostbarkeit“. Jede seiner Gesten beim Spielen vermag das Gefühl einer anima mundi auszudrücken.