Artists

Christian Elsner

Christian Elsner

Christian Elsner, born in Freiburg im Breisgau, studied singing with Martin Gründler, took lessons with Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau and Neil Semer, has won various international competitions and now teaches as a professor of singing at the Karlsruhe University of Music.

The internationally sought-after concert singer makes regular guest appearances, including in the Berlin Philharmonic, La Scala in Milan, Carnegie Hall New York and Suntory Hall Tokyo and has worked with conductors such as Herbert Blomstedt, Semyon Bychkov, Marek Janowski, Mariss Jansons, Zubin Mehta, Yannick Nézet-Séguin and Sir Simon Rattle. He also gave recitals with pianists Gerold Huber and Burkhard Kehring, among others. in Frankfurt, Dresden, Cologne, Schwetzingen, Brussels, Paris and at the Schubertiade Feldkirch. Appearances as Siegmund and as Parsifal led the singer a.o. to the Semperoper Dresden, the Vienna State Opera and the Teatro Real Madrid.

For Christian Elsner, the 2019/20 season is all about Beethoven - on the occasion of the composer's 250th birthday, the tenor sings the Missa Solemnis and Florestan in the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie under Kent Nagano in concert performances of “Fidelio” in Warsaw under Lawrence Foster and in Dresden under Marek Janowski, with whom he can also be heard in the 9th Symphony with the WDR Symphony Orchestra in Cologne and in the Missa Solemnis in Tokyo.

Christian Elsner

Christian Elsner

Der in Freiburg im Breisgau geborene Christian Elsner studierte Gesang bei Martin Gründler, nahm Unterricht bei Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau und Neil Semer, ist Preisträger verschiedener internationaler Wettbewerbe und unterrichtet inzwischen selbst als Professor für Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik in Karlsruhe.

Der international gefragte Konzertsänger gastiert regelmäßig u.a. in der Berliner Philharmonie, der Mailänder Scala, der Carnegie Hall New York oder der Suntory Hall Tokyo und arbeitete mit Dirigenten wie Herbert Blomstedt, Semyon Bychkov, Marek Janowski, Mariss Jansons, Zubin Mehta, Yannick Nézet-Séguin sowie Sir Simon Rattle zusammen. Mit den Pianisten Gerold Huber oder Burkhard Kehring gab er darüber hinaus Liederabende u.a. in Frankfurt, Dresden, Köln, Schwetzingen, Brüssel, Paris und bei der Schubertiade Feldkirch. Auftritte als Siegmund und als Parsifal führten den Sänger u.a. an die Semperoper Dresden, an die Wiener Staatsoper und ans Teatro Real Madrid.

Die Spielzeit 2019/20 steht bei Christian Elsner ganz im Zeichen Beethovens – anlässlich des 250. Geburtstags des Komponisten singt der Tenor in der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie unter Kent Nagano die Missa Solemnis sowie den Florestan in konzertanten Aufführungen des „Fidelio“ in Warschau unter Lawrence Foster und in Dresden unter Marek Janowski, mit dem er auch in der 9. Sinfonie mit dem WDR Sinfonieorchester in Köln sowie in der Missa Solemnis in Tokyo zu erleben sein wird.

Aktuelle Konzerte