Nicholas Angelich

Nicholas Angelich

Nicholas Angelich began studying the piano at five with his mother. At the age of seven, he gave his first concert with Mozart’s Concerto K. 467. He entered at 13 the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris where he studied with Aldo Ciccolini, Yvonne Loriod, Michel Beroff and Marie Françoise Bucquet. He won the First Prize for piano and chamber music.

Nicholas Angelich followed master-classes with Leon Fleisher, Dmitri Bashkirov, and Maria Joao Pires. In 1989 he won the Second Prize of the International Piano Competition R. Casadesus in Cleveland and in 1994 the First Prize of the International Piano Competition Gina Bachauer. In 1996 he was invited as a resident of the International Piano Foundation of Cadennabia (Italy). In 2002 he received the “International Klavierfestival Ruhr - Young Talent Award” (Germany) from Leon Fleischer where he performed in June 2003. At the Victoires de la Musique Classique 2013, he received the Victoire of the “Instrumental Soloist of the Year”.

He made his debuts in May 2003 with the New-York Philharmonic under Kurt Masur at the Lincoln Center in New-York. Valdimir Jurowski invited him to open with him the 2007/08 season of the Russian National Orchestra in Moscow.

For the 2018-19 season, Angelich will perform with the Orchestre Métropolitain de Montreal, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Chicago Symphony, Insula Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia, and the National Symphony Orchestra. He will appear in solo recitals in Liège, Alicante, Paris, among many others.

Highlights of the previous season include performing with the Orchestre National de Lyon, Rotterdam Philharmonic, KBS Symphony Orchestra, Insula Orchestra, and with the Philadelphia Orchestra at the Bravo Vail Festival. During the 2017-18 season, Angelich performed solo recitals in Lyon, Paris, Alicante, and St. Denis.

Nicholas Angelich

Nicholas Angelich

Mit dem Klavierunterricht begann Nicholas Angelich, da war er gerade einmal fünf Jahre alt. Sein erstes Konzert – Mozarts Concerto K467 – gab er im Alter von sieben Jahren. Mit 13 ging er dann an das Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris, wo er unter Aldo Ciccolini, Yvonne Loriod, Michel Beroff und Marie Françoise Bucquet studierte.

Danach lernte er in Meisterkursen bei Leon Fleischer, Dmitri Bashkirov und Maria Joao Pires. 1989 gewann er Silber beim internationalen R. Casadesus Klavier-Wettbewerb in Cleveland und 1994 Gold beim internationalen Gina Bachauer Klavier-Wettbewerb. 1996 wurde er von der internationalen Gina Bachauer Klavierstiftung als Assistent eingeladen. 2002 wurde er beim Klavierfestival Ruhr von Leon Fleischer mit dem „Young Talent Award“ ausgezeichnet, im Juni 2003 trat er dort dann selbst auf. 2013 gewann er bei den Victoires de la Musique Classique als „Instrumental Soloist oft he Year“.

Angelich debütierte im Mai 2003 bei den New Yorker Philharmonikern unter Kurt Masur im Lincoln Center in New York. Später lud Vladimir Jurowski ihn ein, die Spielzeit 2007/08 des Russischen Nationalorchesters in Moskau gemeinsam mit ihm zu eröffnen.

Während der Spielzeit 2018/19 wird Angelich mit dem Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal, dem Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, dem Chicago Sinfonieorchester, dem Insula Orchestra und dem Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia auf der Bühne stehen. Außerdem wird er Solorezitals, unter anderem in Liège, Alicante und Paris, spielen.

Höhepunkte vorangegangener Spielzeiten waren unter anderem Performances mit dem Orchestre National de Lyon, den Philharmonikern aus Rotterdam, dem KBS Sinfonieorchester, dem Insula Orchestra, und dem Orchester aus Philadelphia beim Bravo Vail Festival. Während der Spielzeit 2017/18 spielte Angelich Solorezitals in Lyon, Paris, Alicante und St. Denis.