Artists

Thierry Escaich

Thierry Escaich

The composer and organist Thierry Esciach is a unique figure in contemporary music and one of the most important French composers of his time. He has composed over 100 works in a wide variety of genres and forms, which inspire a wide audience with their lyrical, harmonic and rhythmic energies. Strongly shaped by the French compositional tradition from Ravel to Messiaen to Dutilleux and permeated by references from contemporary, folk and spiritual music, the unmistakable sound world of Escaich's music is characterized by an obsessive rhythmic drive.

His works include both intimate pieces and large pieces such as his Chaconne for orchestra, the oratorio “Le dernier Évangile” and the double concerto for violin and cello “Miroir d’ombres”. His first opera "Claude" with a libretto by Robert Badinter based on Victor Hugo's "Claude Gueux" was premiered in March 2013 at the Opéra de Lyon with great success. His most recent works include the viola concerto “La nuit des chants” for Antoine Tamestit on behalf of the Dutch Radio Philharmonic and the NDR Elbphilharmonie as well as the organ concerto No. 3 “Quatre visages du temps”, which he performed in November 2017 together with the Orchester National de Lyon premiered in Europe.

Escaich's works are performed by leading orchestras in Europe and North America as well as by musicians such as Lisa Batiashvili and François Leleux, Valery Gergiev, Reneaud and Gautier Capuçon, Emmanuelle Bertrand and Paul Meyer. He was composer in residence with the Orchester National de Lyon, Orchester National de Lille and the Paris Chamber Orchestra and received four Victoires de la Musique awards (2003, 2006, 2011, 2017). Escaich teaches composition and improvisation at the Paris Conservatory, where he studied and received eight Premiers Prix. In 2013 he was given the honor of being appointed to the Académie des Beaux-Arts in Paris.

Works for organ are an important part of Escaich's work and are performed by organists around the world, including solo and chamber music, three concerts and the symphonic poem “La barque solaire” for organ and orchestra. His Organ Concerto No. 1 has been performed by orchestras such as the Philadelphia Orchestra and the Orchester National de Lyon and has been selected as the highlight of the organ concert repertoire in Gramophone.
Thierry Escaich's career as a composer is closely linked to his career as an organist - he is one of the ambassadors of the great French improvisation school after Maurice Duruflé, whom he followed as organist at the Saint Étienne du Mont in Paris. He performs internationally in recitals, combining repertoire pieces with his own compositions and improvisations. His passion for the cinema prompted him to give “cine concerts”, improvised accompaniments on the organ or piano for silent films such as “The Phantom of the Opera” or “Metropolis”.

Much of Escaich's work was recorded by Accord / Universal. Recently the critically acclaimed CD “Baroque Song” was released on Sony Classical. His 2011 album “Les nuits hallucinées” crowned his residency with the Orchester National de Lyon and received numerous awards, including the Choc de l’année des Classica Magazines as the outstanding publication of the year. The first production of "Claude" was released on DVD (BelAir Classiques).

Aktuelle Konzerte

Thierry Escaich

Thierry Escaich

Der Komponist und Organist Thierry Esciach ist eine einzigartige Persönlichkeit der zeitgenössischen Musik und einer der bedeutendsten französischen Komponisten seiner Zeit. Er hat über 100 Werke in den verschiedensten Genres und Formen komponiert, die mit ihren lyrischen, harmonischen und rhythmischen Energien ein breites Publikum begeistern. Stark geprägt durch die französische Kompositionstradition von Ravel über Messiaen bis Dutilleux und durchdrungen von Referenzen aus der zeitgenössischen, volkstümlichen und spirituellen Musik, zeichnet sich die unverwechselbare Klangwelt von Escaichs Musik durch einen obsessiven rhythmischen Antrieb aus.

Seine Arbeiten umfassen sowohl intime Werke als auch große Stücke wie seine Chaconne für Orchester, das Oratorium „Le dernier Évangile“ und das Doppelkonzert für Violine und Cello „Miroir d’ombres“. Seine erste Oper „Claude“ mit einem Libretto von Robert Badinter auf Victor Hugos „Claude Gueux“ wurde im März 2013 an der Opéra de Lyon mit großem Erfolg uraufgeführt. Zu seinen jüngsten Werken gehören das Violakonzert „La nuit des chants“ für Antoine Tamestit im Auftrag der Niederländischen Radio-Philharmonie und der NDR Elbphilharmonie sowie das Orgelkonzert Nr. 3 „Quatre visages du temps“, welches er im November 2017 gemeinsam mit dem Orchestre National de Lyon zur europäischen Erstaufführung brachte.

Escaichs Werke werden von führenden Orchestern in Europa und Nordamerika sowie von Musikern wie Lisa Batiashvili und François Leleux, Valery Gergiev, Reneaud und Gautier Capuçon, Emmanuelle Bertrand und Paul Meyer aufgeführt. Er war Composer in Residence beim Orchestre National de Lyon, Orchestre National de Lille und dem Pariser Kammerorchester und wurde mit vier Victoires de la Musique Auszeichnungen (2003. 2006, 2011, 2017) bedacht. Escaich unterrichtet Komposition und Improvisation am Pariser Konservatorium, wo er selbst studierte und acht Premiers Prix erhielt. Im Jahre 2013 wurde ihm die Ehre zuteil, an die Académie des Beaux-Arts in Paris berufen zu werden.

Werke für Orgel sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil von Escaichs Arbeiten und werden von Organisten auf der gesamten Welt aufgeführt, darunter Solo- und Kammermusik, drei Konzerte und die symphonische Dichtung „La barque solaire“ für Orgel und Orchester. Sein Orgelkonzert Nr. 1 wurde von Orchestern wie dem Philadelphia Orchestra und dem Orchestre National de Lyon aufgeführt und in Gramophone als Highlight des Orgelkonzertrepertoires ausgewählt.

Thierry Escaichs Karriere als Komponist ist eng mit seiner Laufbahn als Organist verbunden – er ist einer der Botschafter der großen französischen Improvisationsschule nach Maurice Duruflé, dem er als Organist der Saint Étienne du Mont in Paris folgte. Er tritt international in Rezitals auf, kombiniert dabei Repertoirestücke mit seinen eigenen Kompositionen und Improvisationen. Seine Leidenschaft für das Kino veranlasste ihn, „Cine-Concerts“ zu geben, improvisierte Begleitungen an Orgel oder Klavier für Stummfilme wie „Das Phantom der Oper“ oder „Metropolis“.

Höhepunkte der Saison 2018/19 waren unter anderem seine Residency in der Mariinsky Concert Hall im Oktober 2018, darunter die russische Erstaufführung seines Orgelkonzertes Nr. 3, sowie seine erste Saison als Composer in Residence des Orchestre d’Auvergne, während derer ein besonderer Fokus auf seine Werke gelegt wurde. Er trat in zahlreichen Rezitals auf, u.a. beim Rotterdamer Gergiev Festival, in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, der Philharmonie Luxemburg, der Kölner Philharmonie und der Lotte Concert Hall Seoul.

Viele von Escaichs Werken wurden von Accord/Universal aufgenommen. Kürzlich wurde die von Kritikern viel gelobte CD „Baroque Song“ bei Sony Classical veröffentlicht. Sein in 2011 erschienenes Album „Les nuits hallucinées“ krönte seine Residenz mit dem Orchestre National de Lyon und erhielt zahlreiche Auzeichnungen, darunter den Choc de l’année des Classica Magazines als herausragende Veröffentlichung des Jahres. Die erste Produktion von „Claude“ wurde auf DVD veröffentlicht (BelAir Classiques).

Aktuelle Konzerte