Yeol Eum Son

Yeol Eum Son

Yeol Eum Son’s graceful and timeless interpretations, crystalline touch and versatile, thrilling performances have caught the attention of audiences worldwide. Praised for her widely eclectic concerti repertoire, ranging from Bach and all-Mozart to Shchedrin and Gershwin, her recent concerto highlights include appearances with the Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, and Bergen Philharmonic under the baton of Dmitrij Kitajenko; a debut with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France under Mikko Franck, and the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra under Valery Gergiev, amongst others.

In the 2017-18 season, Yeol Eum made distinguished UK debuts in Birmingham with the CBSO under Omer Meir Wellber and at London’s Cadogan Hall with the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields. Her London debut coincided with the Onyx CD release of a highly acclaimed all-Mozart recording featuring Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.21 with the Academy of St Martin in the Fields under Sir Neville Marriner for whom it was the very last recording.

Distinguished debut highlights of the 2018-19 season feature engagements at the Grafenegg Festival with the Tonkunstler-Orchester and at the Dresdner Philharmonie under Dmitrij Kitajenko. During the current season, Yeol Eum also gives her Swiss concerto debut with the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande under Susanna Mälkki. Son will appear together with the same orchestra at the Seoul Arts Centre under the baton of Jonathan Nott. Strengthening her UK presence, Yeol Eum returns twice to London for a concerto debut at King’s Place with the Aurora Orchestra under Nicholas Collon and for a chamber collaboration at Wigmore Hall with the cellist Natalie Klein. Further debuts include appearances at Moscow’s House of Music with the Moscow Virtuosi under Maestro Spivakov and at the Budapest Festival with its orchestra under Dmitrij Kitajenko.

A sensitive, emotional and powerful pianist, Yeol Eum gives frequent solo and chamber music performances across the globe. Most recent recitals include debuts with San Francisco Chamber Music Society, The Phillips Collection in Washington DC and her Scottish recital debut at the East Neuk Festival. Yeol Eum also returns to the Helsingborg Piano Festival, Fribourg International Piano Series and to Berlin for a chamber concert at Berlin Philharmonie.

Yeol Eum’s new releases include two DECCA albums: the recital CD Modern Times featuring solo piano music written between 1910 and 1920 by Berg, Prokofiev, Stravinsky and Ravel, and a Schumann and Brahms CD with violinist Clara-Jumi Kang.

In 2018, Yeol Eum was appointed Artistic Director of PyeongChang Music Festival & School in her native Korea, where she is responsible for programming both summer and winter festivals running at the recently built Olympic site in PyeongChang. Yeol Eum is Honorary Ambassador of the Seoul Arts Center and her home city of Wonju. A double Second Prize winner at the Tchaikovsky International Piano Competition in 2011 and at the 13th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in 2009, Yeol Eum Son was a student of Arie Vardi at the Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover in Germany, where she now lives. She holds a degree from the Korean National University of Arts.

Aktuelle Konzerte

Yeol Eum Son

Yeol Eum Son

Mit ihren anmutigen, vielseitigen und zeitlosen Interpretationen hat sich Yeol Eum Son weltweit einen Namen gemacht. Sie wird gefeiert für ihr vielschichtiges Konzertrepertoire, welches von Bach und Mozart bis hin zu Schtschedrin und Gershwin reicht. So stand sie jüngst mit dem Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin und dem Bergen Philharmonic unter Dmitri Kitajenko auf der Bühne, und gab Debüts mit dem Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France unter Mikko Franck sowie dem Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra unter Waleri Gergijew.

Während der Spielzeit 2017/18 gab Son unter anderem mehrere Debüts in Großbritannien, etwa mit dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra unter Omer Meir Wellber und in der Cadogan Hall London mit der Academy of St. Martin in the Fields. Zeitgleich mit ihrem Debüt in London erschien eine viel gelobte Mozart-CD, auf welcher auch Mozarts Piano Concerto No. 21 zu hören ist, aufgenommen mit der Academy of St. Martin in the Fields unter Sir Neville Marriner, für den es die letzte Aufnahme seiner Karriere sein sollte.

Die Spielzeit 2018/19 hält für Son Debüts bei dem Grafenegg Festival mit dem Tonkünstler-Orchester sowie bei der Dresdner Philharmonie, zusammen mit Dmitri Kitajenko, bereit. Mit einem Konzert mit dem Orchestre de la Suisse Romande unter Susanna Mälkki debütiert Son außerdem in der Schweiz. Mit demselben Orchester ist ebenfalls ein Auftritt im Seoul Arts Centre unter dem Dirigat von Jonathan Nott vorgesehen. Sie kehrt gleich zwei Mal nach London zurück: für ihr Debüt im Kings Place zusammen mit dem Aurora Orchestra unter Nicholas Collon, und für ein Kammerkonzert mit der Cellistin Natalie Klein in der Wigmore Hall. Weitere Debüts umfassen unter anderem Auftritte in Moskaus International House of Music mit dem Moscow Virtuosi unter Maestro Spiwakow und beim Budapest Festival mit dessen Orchester unter Dmitri Kitajenko.

Yeol Eum Son ist als Solistin und Kammermusikern weltweit zu Gast. Zu Rezitals aus der jüngeren Vergangenheit zählen unter anderem ihr Debüt mit der San Francisco Chamber Music Society und mit der Phillips Collection in Washington DC, sowie ihr Rezital-Debüt in Schottland beim East Neuk Festival. In der laufenden Spielzeit kehrt Son zum Helsingborg Piano Festival, zu den Fribourg International Piano Series und nach Berlin, für ein Kammerkonzert mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, zurück.

Erst kürzlich erschien ihr Album Modern Times mit Solostücken für Klavier von Berg, Prokofjew, Strawinsky und Ravel, komponiert zwischen 1910 und 1920, sowie eine CD mit Werken von Schumann und Brahms, aufgenommen in Zusammenarbeit mit der Violinistin Clara-Jumi Kang.

Son wurde 2018 zur künstlerischen Leiterin des PyeongChang Music Festival & School in ihrem Heimatland Korea ernannt, und ist dort sowohl für das Sommer- als auch das Winterfestival verantwortlich, welche in den kürzlich erbauten Olympiastätten von Pyeongchang stattfinden. Sie ist Ehrenbotschafterin des Seoul Arts Centre und ihrer Heimatstadt Wonju. Die Pianistin gewann den Zweiten Preis beim Tschaikowski-Wettbewerb 2011 und beim Van Cliburn International Piano Competition 2009. Son hat einen Abschluss der Korean National University of Arts und studierte unter Arie Vardi an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien in Hannover, wo sie auch heute noch lebt.

Aktuelle Konzerte