Emily Magee

Emily Magee

Emily Magee was educated at Indiana University by the famous soprano Margaret Harshaw and has won several singing competitions. Her debut as Fiordiligi, when she stood in for a sick colleague in Mozart's “Così fan tutte” at the Chicago Lyric Opera in 1994 - while still a member of the Lyric Opera Center for American Artists - marked her breakthrough. In 1996 she made her European debut in the same role at the Opéra National de Paris. Emily Magee first attracted international attention when she made her German debut that same year as Elsa in a new production of "Lohengrin" at the Berlin State Opera under Daniel Barenboim. In the summer of 1997 she was invited to her debut at the Bayreuth Festival as Eva in "Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg" in a production by Wolfgang Wagner under the direction of Maestro Barenboim.

Her career then took her to all leading opera houses worldwide, including La Scala in Milan, the Metropolitan Opera New York, the Royal Opera House in London, the Vienna State Opera, the Bavarian State Opera in Munich and the Zurich Opera.

Emily Magee has worked with renowned conductors such as Marc Albrecht, Daniel Barenboim, Bruno Bartoletti, Anthony Pappano, Sir Simon Rattle and Christian Thielemann.

Her great successes include the role of Marietta in a new production of Korngold's "Die tote Stadt" in Zurich, the resumption of "Lohengrin" at the Hamburg State Opera and Eva in a new production of "Meistersinger" in Florence with Zubin Mehta. In Munich she sang Elisabeth, Eva and Donna Elvira, followed by a new production of Verdi's "Stiffelio" at the Zurich Opera.

Emily Magee can be seen in numerous film productions, including her debut as Tosca at the Zurich Opera House alongside Jonas Kaufmann.

Emily Magee

Emily Magee

Emily Magee wurde an der Indiana University von der berühmten Sopranistin Margaret Harshaw ausgebildet und gewann mehrere Gesangswettbewerbe. Ihr Debüt als Fiordiligi, als sie 1994 - noch als Mitglied des Lyric Opera Center for American Artists - für einen kranken Kollegen in Mozarts „Così fan tutte“ an der Chicago Lyric Opera einsprang, markierte ihren Durchbruch. 1996 gab sie ihr Europa-Debüt in der gleichen Rolle an der Opéra National de Paris. Emily Magee erregte erstmals internationale Aufmerksamkeit, als sie im selben Jahr ihr Deutschlanddebüt als Elsa in einer Neuproduktion des "Lohengrin" an der Berliner Staatsoper unter Daniel Barenboim gab. Im Sommer 1997 wurde sie dann zu ihrem Debüt bei den Bayreuther Festspielen als Eva in "Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg" in einer Produktion von Wolfgang Wagner unter der Leitung von Maestro Barenboim eingeladen.

Ihre Karriere führte sie anschließend an alle führenden Opernhäuser weltweit, darunter die Mailänder Scala, die Metropolitan Opera New York, das Royal Opera House in London, die Wiener Staatsoper, die Bayerische Staatsoper München und die Oper Zürich. 
Emily Magee hat mit renommierten Dirigenten wie Marc Albrecht, Daniel Barenboim, Bruno Bartoletti, Anthony Pappano, Sir Simon Rattle und Christian Thielemann gearbeitet.

Zu ihren großen Erfolgen gehören die Rolle der Marietta in einer Neuproduktion von Korngolds "Die tote Stadt" in Zürich, die Wiederaufnahme von "Lohengrin" an der Hamburgischen Staatsoper und Eva in einer Neuproduktion der "Meistersinger" in Florenz mit Zubin Mehta. In München sang sie Elisabeth, Eva und Donna Elvira, gefolgt von einer Neuproduktion von Verdis "Stiffelio" an der Oper Zürich.

Emily Magee ist in zahlreichen Filmproduktionen zu sehen, darunter ihr Debüt als Tosca am Opernhaus Zürich an der Seite von Jonas Kaufmann.