Chamber Music Concert

American quintet

Harp, flute and viola - chamber music for an unusual trio


Sunday | 5/05/2024
11:00 am Start of Concert
Konzertsaal im Kulturpalast, Dresden
Floor Plan

About the Concert

For many, Claude Debussy is almost synonymous with French music. And among connoisseurs of this extraordinary composer, his sonata for harp, flute and viola is even considered his best work! In this concert, it will be played by the Philharmoniker, who will also present a number of other compositions for this instrumentation. These include the enchanting trio "And I Knew't Was Wind" by the Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu, which is based on a poem by Emily Dickinson. It is about the wind as we experience it in nature - but also how it moves our souls...


Theodore Dubois
Terzettino in E for flute, harp and viola

André Jolivet
Petite Suite for flute, harp and viola

Manuel Moreno-Buendia
Suite popular espanola for flute, viola and harp

Toru Takemitsu
"And I Knew't Was Wind" for flute, harp and viola

Claude Debussy
Sonata for flute, viola and harp


Nora Koch
Claudia Rose
Christina Biwank


Nora Koch

Solo Harpinist

Nora Koch erhielt mit sechs Jahren den ersten Klavierunterricht und begann mit 14 Jahren ihre Ausbildung in den Fächern Harfe und Klavier an der Hochschule für Musik Leipzig bei Margarethe Kluvetasch und Prof. Max Koch. Meisterklassen bei Alice Giles (Australien) und Susann McDonald (USA) ergänzten ihr Studium, wie auch eine vierjährige Substitutentätigkeit am Gewandhausorchester. 

read biography

Claudia Rose

2nd flutist

Claudia Rose, born in Erfurt, studied at the Hochschule für Musik Carl Maria von Weber in Dresden from 1995 to 2000 and subsequently completed a two-year postgraduate course there. From 1998 she was a substitute with the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra and became a permanent member of the orchestra in 1999.

read biography

Christina Biwank

Solo violist - Member of the Orchestra Board

Christina Biwank is principal violist of the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra. She is also active in a variety of chamber music activities and holds a teaching position at the Hochschule für Musik Carl Maria von Weber Dresden.

read biography

Similar Concerts

  • Ticket

    Do you want to order concert tickets?
    We have compiled all the options for you under Ticket Info.

  • Newsletter

    With our newsletter we inform you about short-term offers and news about events of the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra that are of particular interest to you.