Gaetano d'Espinosa

Gaetano d'Espinosa

Born in Palermo, Gaetano d'Espinosa enjoyed extensive training in violin (with Mihai Spinei and Salvatore Accardo), piano, composition (with Turi Belfiore) and philosophy in his home country, Italy.


He began his career as a musician as a violinist with the Orchestra da Camera Italiana and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, followed by an engagement with the Staatskapelle Dresden from 2001 to 2008, where he was concertmaster from 2003. During his time in Dresden as an orchestral musician, Gaetano d'Espinosa developed his long-cherished passion for conducting and was given the opportunity to assist Maestro Fabio Luisi, who became his mentor, in various productions. In 2008 he gave up his position in the orchestra to devote himself exclusively to conducting.


His most important debut as a conductor included the resumption of Verdi's "La Traviata" at the Saxon State Opera in Dresden in 2010. In 2012, Gaetano d'Espinosa was appointed first guest conductor of the Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano "Giuseppe Verdi", one position which he held until 2017. At the Teatro "Carlo Felice" in Genoa, he directed performances of Leoncavallo's "Pagliacci" in 2011, staged by Franco Zeffirelli, and in 2013 Verdi's "La Traviata". In 2011 he conducted Verdi's "Otello" at the Graz Opera, followed by Donizetti's "Maria Stuarda" in 2012.


He performs regularly with renowned Japanese orchestras, including the NHK Orchestra in Tokyo (2012, 2014,2019) Japan Century Orchestra in Osaka (2011, 2016, 2018) and the Tokyo Metropolitan Orchestra (2014). Invitations from Sinfonia Varsovia and Poznan Philharmonic complete his calendar, as does a successful collaboration with the Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino or the Orchester de Chambre de Lausanne.


Noteworthy among Gaetano d'Espinosa's productions is Bartók's "Duke Bluebeard's Castle" (Milan, 2015), as well as the semi-staged production of "Die Fledermaus" as part of the Milan Expo 2015.
As a conductor, Gaetano d'Espinosa also dedicates himself to works by contemporary composers. In his capacity as composer and soloist at the same time, he performed his own "Concerto for Violin" with the Staatskapelle Dresden under the direction of Christian Arming in 2005. His work "Andante für Dimitrij" for string orchestra has been performed several times since its premiere in 2014 performed in various orchestras.

Gaetano d'Espinosa

Gaetano d'Espinosa

Der in Palermo geborene Gaetano d´Espinosa genoss in seiner Heimat, Italien, eine umfangreiche Ausbildung in Violine (bei Mihai Spinei und Salvatore Accardo), Klavier, Komposition (bei Turi Belfiore) und Philosophie.

Seine Karriere als Musiker begann er als Violinist beim Orchestra da Camera Italiana und dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra, gefolgt von einem Engagement in der Staatskapelle Dresden in den Jahren 2001 bis 2008, wo er ab 2003 die Position Konzertmeister ausfüllte. Während seiner Dresdner Zeit als Orchestermusiker entfaltete Gaetano d'Espinosa seine längst gehegte Leidenschaft für das Dirigieren und bekam die Möglichkeit, Maestro Fabio Luisi, der sein Mentor wurde, in verschiedenen Produktionen zu assistieren. Im Jahr 2008 gab er seine Stelle im Orchester auf, um sich ausschließlich dem Dirigieren zu widmen.

Zu seinem wichtigsten Debüt als Dirigent gehört die Wiederaufnahme von Verdi´s "La Traviata" an der Sächsischen Staatsoper Dresden im Jahr 2010. Im Jahr 2012 wurde Gaetano d'Espinosa zum Ersten Gastdirigenten des Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano „Giuseppe Verdi“ ernannt, eine Position, die er bis 2017 innehatte. Am Teatro "Carlo Felice" in Genua leitete er im Jahre 2011 Aufführungen von Leoncavallos "Pagliacci", in der Inszenierung von Franco Zeffirelli, und 2013 Verdis "La Traviata". An der Oper Graz dirigierte er 2011 Verdis "Otello", gefolgt von Donizettis "Maria Stuarda" im Jahr 2012.

Er tritt regelmäßig mit renommierten japanischen Orchestern auf, zu denen u.a. das NHK Orchestra in Tokio (2012, 2014,2019) Japan Century Orchestra in Osaka (2011, 2016, 2018 ) und das Tokyo Metropolitan Orchestra (2014) zählen. Einladungen von Sinfonia Varsovia und Poznan Philharmonic vervollständigen seinen Kalender ebenso wie eine erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit dem Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentinooder dem Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne.

Bemerkenswert unter Gaetano d'Espinosas Produktionen ist Bartóks "Herzog Blaubarts Burg" (Mailand, 2015), wie auch die halbszenische Produktion von "Die Fledermaus" im Rahmen der der Mailänder Expo 2015 zu bezeichnen.

Gaetano d'Espinosa widmet sich als Dirigent auch Werken zeitgenössischer Komponisten. In seiner Eigenschaft Komponist und gleichzeitig als Solist, führte er im Jahr 2005 mit der Staatskapelle Dresden unter der Leitung von Christian Arming sein eigenes „Konzert für Violine" auf. Sein Werk "Andante für Dimitrij" für Streichorchester, wurde seit der Uraufführung 2014 mehrfach von verschiedenen Orchestern aufgeführt.

Aktuelle Konzerte