Marek Janowski

Marek Janowski

As of the 2019/20 season, Marek Janowski will be the Artistic Director and Chied Conductor of the Dresdner Philharmonie.

From 2002 to 2015, he was Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin (RSB). Previously – to some extent simultaneously – he served, inter alia, as the music director of the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande (2005–2012), the Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo (2000–2005) and the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France (1984–2000), which he developed into France’s top orchestra. In addition, he headed up the Gürzenich Orchestra in Cologne (1986–1990) and the Dresdner Philharmonie (2001–2003) for a number of years.

Born in Warsaw in 1939, raised and educated in Germany, Marek Janowski’s creative path took him from Aachen, Cologne, Düsseldorf and Hamburg as general music director to Freiburg i. Br. and Dortmund. Since the late 1970s there is no opera house of international renown where he has not been a regular guest, from the Metropolitan Opera New York to the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, from San Francisco to Hamburg, Vienna and Paris.

On the concert circuit, on which he has concentrated since the late 1990s, he continues the great German conducting tradition. He ranks worldwide as an outstanding Beethoven, Schumann, Brahms, Bruckner and Strauss conductor, as well as an expert in the French repertoire. His leave-taking from opera was, however, only institutional in nature, not musical – thus, Marek Janowski is considered one of the most knowledgeable conductors for Richard Wagner’s music, now more than ever. With the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, the Rundfunkchor Berlin and a phalanx of international soloists, he performed the ten operas and music dramas of the Bavarian canon in concert performances in Berlin’s Philharmonic Hall between 2010 and 2013. All the concerts were released by Pentatone on SACD in cooperation with Deutschlandradio.

More than 50 recordings, often winning internationally awards – including several complete opera recordings and complete symphonic cycles – have been contributing for over 35 years to making Marek Janowski’s particular capabilities as a conductor internationally known.

In 2016 and 2017 Marek Janowski returned once again to the opera house, conducting the Ring at the Bayreuth Festival. In addition, he was invited by the NHK Symphony (Japan’s most important orchestra) from 2014 to 2017 to conduct concert performances of Wagner’s Ring tetralogy in Tokyo. He will also perform Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde in the spring of 2020 and his Parsifal in 2021 with this orchestra.

Aktuelle Konzerte

Marek Janowski

Marek Janowski

Marek Janowski ist ab der Spielzeit 2019/20 Künstlerischer Leiter und Chefdirigent der Dresdner Philharmonie

Von 2002 bis 2015 war er Künstlerischer Leiter und Chefdirigent des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters Berlin (RSB). Zuvor und teilweise parallel amtierte er u.a. als Chefdirigent des Orchestre de la Suisse Romande (2005–2012), des Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo (2000–2005) und des Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France (1984–2000), das er zum Spitzenorchester Frankreichs entwickelte. Außerdem war er mehrere Jahre Chef am Pult des Gürzenich-Orchesters in Köln (1986–1990) und der Dresdner Philharmonie (2001–2003).

1939 geboren in Warschau, aufgewachsen und ausgebildet in Deutschland, führte Marek Janowskis künstlerischer Weg über Aachen, Köln, Düsseldorf und Hamburg als GMD nach Freiburg i. Br. und Dortmund. Es gibt zwischen der Metropolitan Opera New York und der Bayerischen Staatsoper München, zwischen San Francisco, Hamburg, Wien und Paris kein Opernhaus von Weltruf, an dem er seit den späten 1970er Jahren nicht regelmäßig zu Gast war.

Im Konzertbetrieb, auf den er sich seit den späten 1990er Jahren konzentriert, führt er die große deutsche Dirigententradition fort. Weltweit gilt er als herausragender Beethoven-, Schumann-, Brahms-, Bruckner- und Strauss-Dirigent, aber auch als Fachmann für das französische Repertoire. Sein Abschied von der Oper war indes nur ein institutioneller, kein musikalischer – so zählt Marek Janowski heute mehr denn je zu den kundigsten Dirigenten für die Musik Richard Wagners. Mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, dem Rundfunkchor Berlin und einer Phalanx von internationalen Solisten realisierte er zwischen 2010 und 2013 in der Berliner Philharmonie die zehn Opern und Musikdramen des Bayreuther Kanons in konzertanten Aufführungen. Sämtliche Konzerte wurden in Kooperation mit Deutschlandradio von Pentatone auf SACD veröffentlicht.

Mehr als 50 zumeist mit internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnete Schallplatten – darunter mehrere Operngesamtaufnahmen und komplette sinfonische Zyklen – tragen seit über 35 Jahren dazu bei, die besonderen Fähigkeiten Marek Janowskis als Dirigent international bekannt zu machen.

2016 und 2017 kehrte Marek Janowski doch noch einmal in ein Opernhaus zurück und leitete den Ring bei den Bayreuther Festspielen. Außerdem wurde er für die Jahre 2014 bis 2017 vom NHK Symphony (dem bedeutendsten Orchester Japans) eingeladen, in Tokio Wagners Ring-Tetralogie konzertant zu dirigieren. Mit diesem Orchester wird er auch im Frühjahr 2020 Wagners Tristan und Isolde und 2021 dessen Parsifal aufführen.

Aktuelle Konzerte