Cristian Măcelaru

Cristian Măcelaru

Newly appointed Music Director and Conductor of the Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music, Cristian Măcelaru has established himself as one of the fast-rising stars of the conducting world. With every concert, he displays an exciting and highly regarded presence, thoughtful interpretations and energetic conviction on the podium. He launched his inaugural season at Cabrillo in August 2017 with premiere-filled programs of new works and fresh re-orchestrations by an esteemed group of composers. Among the 2017 season’s highlights were 7 world premieres, 11 composers-in-residence, a stunning roster of international guest artists, and two special tributes – one to commemorate Lou Harrison’s centenary and another honouring John Adams’ 70th birthday.

Măcelaru regularly conducts top orchestras in North America including the Chicago Symphony, New York Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, National Symphony Orchestra, and Toronto Symphony. In the 2016/17 season, he led the Bayerischen Rundfunk Symphonieorchester in two separate programs and made debuts with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, WDR Sinfonieorchester, Weimar Staatskapelle, Royal Flemish Philharmonic and New Japan Philharmonic with Anne-Sophie Mutter as soloist. In recent seasons, further international appearances have brought him to Deutsches Sinfonie-Orchester Berlin, Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony, Rotterdam Philharmonic, and City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

A keen opera conductor, in June 2015 he led the Cincinnati Opera in highly acclaimed performances of Il Trovatore. In 2010, he made his operatic debut with the Houston Grand Opera in Madama Butterfly and led the U.S. premiere of Colin Matthews’s Turning Point with the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra as part of the Tanglewood Contemporary Music Festival. In 2019, he returns to the Houston Grand Opera on a Kasper Holten production of Don Giovanni.

Măcelaru came to public attention in February 2012 when he conducted the Chicago Symphony Orchestra as a replacement for Pierre Boulez in performances met with critical acclaim. Winner of the 2014 Solti Conducting Award, Măcelaru previously received the Sir Georg Solti Emerging Conductor Award in 2012, a prestigious honor only awarded once before in the Foundation’s history. He has participated in the conducting programs of the Tanglewood Music Center and the Aspen Music Festival, studying under David Zinman, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Oliver Knussen and Stefan Asbury. His main studies were with Larry Rachleff at Rice University, where he received master’s degrees in conducting and violin performance. An accomplished violinist from an early age, Măcelaru was the youngest concertmaster in the history of the Miami Symphony Orchestra and made his Carnegie Hall debut with that orchestra at the age of nineteen.

As Founder and Artistic Director of the Crisalis Music Project, Mr. Măcelaru spearheaded a program in which young musicians perform in a variety of settings, side-by-side with established artists.

Cristian Măcelaru resides in Philadelphia with his wife Cheryl and children Beniamin and Maria.

Cristian Măcelaru

Cristian Măcelaru

Christian Măcelaru, künstlerischer Leiter und Dirigent des Cabrillo Festival für zeitgenössische Musik, hat sich schnell als einer der Stars der Dirigenten-Szene etabliert. Jedes seiner Konzerte zeichnet sich aus durch seine energetische Präsenz und durchdachten Interpretationen. Seine erste Spielzeit beim Cabrillo im August 2017 beging er mit einem Programm voller Premieren und neuer Orchesterfassungen angesehener Komponisten. So glänzte das Festival 2017 mit sieben Welturaufführungen, elf Composern-in-Residence, einer Vielzahl von internationalen Gästen und zwei besonderen Tributen anlässlich Lou Harrisons 100. und John Adams 70. Geburtstag.

Măcelaru dirigiert regelmäßig die besten Orchester Nordamerikas, vom Chicago Symphony über das New York und Los Angeles Philharmonic bis zum Toronto Symphony. Er leitete außerdem das Bayerische Rundfunk Sinfonieorchester und debütierte mit dem Concertgebouw Orkest, dem WDR Sinfonieorchester, der Weimarer Staatskapelle, sowie dem New Japan Philharmonic mit Anne-Sophie Mutter als Solistin. Weitere Aufführungen führten ihn unter anderem an das Deutsche Sinfonieorchester Berlin, das Radio Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt, das Rotterdam Philharmonic und das City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

Als begeisterter Operndirigent leitete er unter anderem von den Kritikern gefeierte Aufführungen von „Il Trovatore“ an der Cincinnati Opera im Jahre 2015. Sein Operndebüt gab er 2010 mit „Madame Butterfly“ an der Houston Grand Opera. Außerdem dirigierte er die US-amerikanische Uraufführung von Colin Matthews „Turning Point“ mit dem Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra. 2019 wird er für eine Produktion von „Don Giovanni“ unter der Regie von Kaspar Holten an die Houston Grand Opera zurückkehren.

Die Aufmerksamkeit der Öffentlichkeit zog Măcelaru zum ersten Mal im Februar 2012 auf sich, als er Pierre Boulez in Aufführungen des Chicago Symphony Orchestra vertrat. 2014 gewann er den Solti Conducting Award. Zuvor hatte er 2012 bereits den Sir Georg Solti Emerging Conductor Award gewonnen, welcher in der Geschichte der Stiftung zuvor erst ein einziges Mal verliehen wurde. Er hat an Dirigierkursen des Tanglewood Music Centers und des Aspen Festivals teilgenommen und dabei bei David Zinman, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Oliver Knussen und Stefan Asbury gelernt. Sein Hauptstudium absolvierte er an der Rice University unter Larry Rachleff und schloss es mit einem Master in Dirigat und Geigenspiel ab. Măcelaru war der jüngste Konzertmeister in der Geschichte des Miami Symphony Orchestra und gab sein Debüt in der Carnegie Hall mit ebendiesem Orchester im Alter von gerade einmal 19 Jahren.

Als Gründer und künstlerischer Leiter des Crisalis Music Project hat Măcelaru ein Programm angestoßen, welches jungen Musikern die Möglichkeit gibt, eine Vielzahl von Stücken Seite an Seite mit etablierten Künstlern zu spielen.

Christian Măcelaru lebt mit seiner Frau Cheryl und ihren beiden Kindern Beniamin und Maria in Philadelphia.

Aktuelle Konzerte