Louis Langrée

Louis Langrée

The French conductor Louis Langrée has been music director of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra since 2013. The 2019/20 season marks the 125th anniversary of the orchestra, which will be celebrated with special events throughout the season, honoring the history of the orchestra and its originality.
In recent years, Louis toured with them to Asia and Europe, including the Hong Kong Arts Festival, the Edinburgh International Festival, the BBC Proms and La Seine Musicale (Paris). He is also music director of the Mostly Mozart Festival at Lincoln Center in New York, a position he has held since 2002.

Recent conducting projects include Louis' debut with the Czech Philharmonic at the Prague Spring Festival, the Orchester National de France and the Konzerthaus Berlin Orchestra. The Wiener Symphoniker, the Leipzig Gewandhausorchester and the Philadelphia Orchestras were happy about return engagements.

Louis has conducted the Berlin Philharmonic, the Vienna Philharmonic and the London Philharmonic Orchestra. He has worked with many other orchestras around the world, including the Orchester de Paris, the Orchester de la Suisse Romande, the Santa Cecilia in Rome, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra.

Festival appearances included the Vienna Festival, the Salzburg Mozart Week and the Glyndebourne Festival Opera at Whitsun. He has also conducted at Scala, the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, the Royal Covent Garden Opera House, the Opéra-Bastille, the Lyrical Opera of Chicago, the Dresden State Opera and the Dutch Opera in Amsterdam. Louis has directed several world premieres including works by Daníel Bjarnason, Magnus Lindberg and Caroline Shaw.

He held positions as music director of the Orchester de Picardie (1993-98) and the Orchester Philharmonique Royal de Liège (2001-06) and was chief conductor of the Camerata Salzburg (2011-16). He was also music director of the Opéra National de Lyon (1998-2000) and the Glyndebourne Touring Opera (1998-2003).

Louis Langrée's recordings with the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra include Coplands A Lincoln Portrait and world premieres Sebastian Curriers, Thierry Escaichs, David Langs, Nico Muhlys and Zhou Tians (who were nominated for a Grammy Award). His latest CSO recording will be released in August 2019 and includes works by Gershwin, Varèse and Stravinsky. His recordings have received multiple awards from Deutsche Grammophon and Midem Classical.

Louis Langrée

Louis Langrée

Der französische Dirigent Louis Langrée ist seit 2013 Musikdirektor des Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra. Die Saison 2019/20 markiert das 125-jährige Bestehen des Orchesters, das während der gesamten Saison mit besonderen Ereignissen gefeiert wird und die Geschichte des Orchesters und seine Originalität würdigt.
In den letzten Jahren tourte Louis mit ihnen nach Asien und Europa, unter anderem zum Hong Kong Arts Festival, zum Edinburgh International Festival, zu den BBC Proms und zur La Seine Musicale (Paris). Er ist außerdem Musikdirektor des Mostly Mozart Festivals im Lincoln Center in New York, eine Position, die er seit 2002 innehat.

Zu den jüngsten Dirigentenprojekten zählen Louis' Debüt mit den Tschechischen Philharmonikern bei den Prager Frühlingsfestspielen, dem Orchestre National de France und dem Konzerthaus Berlin Orchestra. Über Rückkehr-Engagements freuten sich die Wiener Symphoniker, das Leipziger Gewandhausorchester und die Philadelphia Orchestras.

Louis hat die Berliner Philharmoniker, die Wiener Philharmoniker und das London Philharmonic Orchestra dirigiert. Er hat mit vielen anderen Orchestern auf der ganzen Welt zusammengearbeitet, darunter mit dem Orchestre de Paris, dem Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, der Santa Cecilia in Rom, der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, dem Freiburger Barockorchester.

Zu den Festivalauftritten gehörten die Wiener Festwochen, die Salzburger Mozartwoche sowie zu Pfingsten das Glyndebourne Festival Opera. Er dirigierte auch an der Scala, der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München, dem Königlichen Opernhaus Covent Garden, der Opéra-Bastille, der Lyrischen Oper von Chicago, der Dresdner Staatsoper und der Niederländischen Oper in Amsterdam. Louis hat mehrere Weltpremieren geleitet, darunter Werke von Daníel Bjarnason, Magnus Lindberg und Caroline Shaw.

Er hatte Positionen als Musikdirektor des Orchesters de Picardie (1993-98) und des Orchesters Philharmonique Royal de Liège (2001-06) inne und war Chefdirigent der Camerata Salzburg (2011- 16). Zudem war er Musikdirektor der Opéra National de Lyon (1998-2000) und der Glyndebourne Touring Opera (1998-2003).

Louis Langrées Aufnahmen mit dem Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra beinhalten Coplands A Lincoln Portrait und Uraufführungen Sebastian Curriers, Thierry Escaichs, David Langs, Nico Muhlys und Zhou Tians (die für einen Grammy Award nominiert wurden). Seine neueste CSO-Aufnahme wird im August 2019 veröffentlicht und enthält Werke von Gershwin, Varèse und Strawinsky. Seine Aufnahmen wurden mehrfach von Deutsche Grammophon und Midem Classical ausgezeichnet.