Nicholas Collon

Nicholas Collon

he British conductor Nicholas Collon is the founder and chief conductor of the pioneering Aurora Orchestra, principal guest conductor of the Guerzenich Orchestra in Cologne and chief conductor and artistic advisor of the Residentie Orkest in The Hague, until he became the first non-Finnish conductor in this position to lead the Finnish in 2021 Radio Symphony will take over.

His elegant conducting style, his musical mind and his inspiring music-making have been invited to orchestras such as the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, the Bamberg Symphony, the Danish National Symphony Orchestra and many of the leading British orchestras such as the Philharmonia, the London Philharmonic and the Hallé as well as the City of Birmingham Symphony evoked.


Last season he made his North American debut with the Toronto Symphony and his Japanese debut with the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony. At the same time he conducted the Oslo Philharmonic and the National de France Orchestra for the first time.


Together with his Aurora Orchestra, he formed the centerpiece of the 2019 BBC Proms Berlioz celebrations and conducted a performance of the Symphonie fantastique at the Royal Albert Hall, which was broadcast on BBC Four.


The Aurora Orchestra has performed at the Proms every year since 2010 and regularly visits leading European concert halls such as the Amsterdam Concertgebouw and the Cologne Philharmonic. This season it returns to the festivals in Bremen, Theingau and Gstaad.


The Aurora Orchestra is Resident Orchestra at Kings Place and Associate Orchestra at Southbank, where they are reinventing the concert format with their "Orchestral Theater" series. In May 2019, the series included a program by Mozart and Max Richter entitled Music of the Spheres, which was then recorded for publication by Deutsche Grammophon.


Collon made two critically acclaimed recordings for Warner Classics with Aurora: "Road Trip" with music by Ives, Copland, Adams and Nico Muhly (winner of the prestigious Echo Klassik Award 2015 for "Classical Without Borders") and "Insomnia" with Music by Britten, Brett Dean, Ligeti, Gurney and Lennon & McCartney. He has also recorded Haydn and Ligeti with the Danish Radio Symphony, Britten and Delius with the Philharmonia, and several records from the contemporary repertoire with the Hallé.


He has conducted over 200 new works, including world premieres of works by Unsuk Chin, Phillip Glass, Colin Matthews, Nico Muhly, Krzysztof Penderecki and Judith Weir. This season he is directing works by Thomas Adès and Brett Dean.


Opera productions included Britten's Peter Grimes and Mozart's Don Giovanni for Cologne Opera, Mozart's Die Zauberflöte at English National Opera, Jonathan Harvey's Wagner Dream at Welsh National Opera, Britten's Rape of Lucretia for Glyndebourne Touring Opera and Britten's Turn of the Screw at the Aldeburgh Festival with the Aurora Orchestra.


Born in London, he is a trained violist, pianist and organist and studied organ at Clare College, Cambridge.

Nicholas Collon

Nicholas Collon

Der britische Dirigent Nicholas Collon ist Gründer und Chefdirigent des bahnbrechenden Aurora-Orchesters, Hauptgastdirigent des Guerzenich-Orchesters in Köln und Chefdirigent und künstlerischer Berater der Residentie Orkest in Den Haag, bis er 2021 als erster nicht-finnischer Dirigent in dieser Position die Leitung der Finnish Radio Symphony übernehmen wird.

Sein eleganter Dirigierstil, sein musikalischer Verstand und sein inspirierendes Musizieren haben Gasteinladungen zu Orchestern wie dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, den Bamberger Symphonikern, dem Dänischen Nationalsinfonieorchester und vielen der führenden britischen Orchester wie der Philharmonia, den London Philharmonic und dem Hallé sowie der City of Birmingham Symphony hervorgerufen.

In der vergangenen Saison gab er sein Debüt in Nordamerika mit der Toronto Symphony und sein Japan-Debüt mit der Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony. Zugleich dirigierte er erstmals auch die Oslo Philharmonic und das Orchester National de France.

Zusammen mit seinem Aurora-Orchester bildete er das Herzstück der BBC Proms Berlioz- Feierlichkeiten 2019 und dirigierte auswendig eine Aufführung der Symphonie fantastique in der Royal Albert Hall, die auf BBC Four ausgestrahlt wurde.

Das Aurora-Orchester tritt seit 2010 jedes Jahr bei den Proms auf und besucht regelmäßig führende europäische Konzerthäuser wie das Amsterdam Concertgebouw und die Kölner Philharmonie. In dieser Saison kehrt es zu den Festivals in Bremen, im Theingau und in Gstaad zurück.

Das Aurora Orchestra ist Resident Orchestra am Kings Place und Associate Orchestra an der Southbank, wo sie das Konzertformat mit ihrer Reihe „Orchestral Theatre“ neu erfinden. Im Mai 2019 enthielt die Reihe ein Programm von Mozart und Max Richter mit dem Titel Musik der Sphären, das anschließend zur Veröffentlichung von der Deutschen Grammophon aufgenommen wurde.

Collon hat mit Aurora zwei von der Kritik gefeierte Aufnahmen für Warner Classics aufgenommen: "Road Trip" mit Musik von Ives, Copland, Adams und Nico Muhly (Gewinner des renommierten Echo Klassik Award 2015 für "Klassik Ohne Grenzen") und "Insomnia" mit Musik von Britten, Brett Dean, Ligeti, Gurney und Lennon & McCartney. Er hat auch Haydn und Ligeti mit der dänischen Radiosinfonie, Britten und Delius mit der Philharmonia sowie mehrere Platten des zeitgenössischen Repertoires mit dem Hallé aufgenommen.

Er hat über 200 neue Werke dirigiert, darunter Weltpremieren von Werken von Unsuk Chin, Phillip Glass, Colin Matthews, Nico Muhly, Krzysztof Penderecki und Judith Weir. In dieser Saison leitet er Werke von Thomas Adès und Brett Dean.

Zu den Opernproduktionen gehörten Brittens Peter Grimes und Mozarts Don Giovanni für die Oper Köln, Mozarts Die Zauberflöte an der English National Opera, Jonathan Harveys Wagner Dream an der Welsh National Opera, Brittens Rape of Lucretia für die Glyndebourne Touring Opera und Brittens Turn of the Screw an der Aldeburgh Festival mit dem Aurora Orchestra.

Der gebürtige Londoner ist ausgebildeter Bratschist, Pianist und Organist und studierte als Orgelwissenschaftler am Clare College in Cambridge.