Tung-Chieh Chuang

Tung-Chieh Chuang

Tung-Chieh Chuang is the winner of the 2015 International Malko Competition in Copenhagen, standing out amongst a large field of candidates to win this prestigious award. Prior to this, the young Taiwanese conductor had already won numerous prizes and accolades, including a prize and the Audience Award at the Solti Competition in Frankfurt as well as being named a winner of the Gustav Mahler Competition in Bamberg and the Jeunesse Musicales Conducting Competition in Bucharest.

As guest conductor, Tung-Chieh Chuang has appeared with such orchestras as Bamberger Symphoniker, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Oslo Philharmonic, BBC Symphony Orchestra, RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Taiwan Philharmonic, Macao Orchestra and Shanghai Symphony Orchestra. He continues his collaborations with MDR Sinfonieorchester, Leipzig, Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, Qatar Philharmonic and Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra, amongst others.

Highlights of the 2018/2019 season include debuts with the Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester, the Dresdner Philharmonie and the SWR Symphonie Orchester. Further engagements take him to the Royal Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Iceland Symphony Orchestra and Odense Symphony Orchestra. He returns to the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, Sonderjyllands Symphony Orchestra, the Württembergisches Kammerorchester Heilbronn and Lapland Chamber Orchestra. Already well established in large parts of Asia, in October 2018 he will make his Japan debut in a concert with the Tokyo City Philharmonic Orchestra. He embarks upon re-invitations to the Taiwan Philharmonic, Shanghai Symphony Orchestra and Macao Orchestra, accompanies the Taipei Symphony Orchestra on tour in Taiwan and China and leads the NCPA Orchestra in Beijing. At the end of the season, he makes his debut in Australia, conducting concerts with the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

In 2010, Chuang received the Edwin B. Garrigues Fellowship of the Curtis Institute of Music. A year later in Philadelphia, he initiated the Curtis Japan Benefit Concert, donating all proceeds to the victims of the March 2011 earthquake via the Red Cross Japan. In 2012, he launched the first orchestral ‘flashmob’ in Taiwan, in his role as Principal Conductor of the National Taiwan University Symphony Orchestra.

Born into a family of professional musicians, Tung-Chieh Chuang showed great musical promise from an early age studying the horn and piano, giving his first public concert at the age of 11. He continued his education at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia and at the Hochschule für Musik „Franz Liszt“ Weimar. His mentors include Mark Gibson, Gustav Meier, Otto-Werner Mueller and Nicolás Pasquet.

He currently lives with his wife and his young daughter in Berlin.

Tung-Chieh Chuang

Tung-Chieh Chuang

Tung-Chieh Chuang gewann 2015 den Internationalen Malko-Wettbewerb in Kopenhagen. Mit Bravour konnte sich der junge Dirigent aus Taiwan in einem großen Feld von Bewerbern behaupten und diesen prestigeträchtigen Preis erringen. Zuvor hatte Chuang bereits einen 2. Preis sowie den Audience Award beim Solti-Wettbewerb in Frankfurt gewonnen, ein 1. Preis wurde nicht vergeben. Außerdem ist er Preisträger des Gustav Mahler Wettbewerbs in Bamberg und des Jeunesse Musicales Conducting Competition in Bukarest.

Gastdirigate führten Tung-Chieh Chuang u.a. zu den Bamberger Symphonikern, zum Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Oslo Philharmonic, BBC Symphony Orchestra, RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Taiwan Philharmonic, Macao Orchestra und Shanghai Symphony Orchestra. Er arbeitete wiederholt mit dem MDR Sinfonieorchester, der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, dem Württembergischen Kammerorchester Heilbronn, dem Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra, Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra und Oviedo Filarmonia.

Zu den Höhepunkten der Spielzeit 2018/2019 zählen seine Debüts beim Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester, der Dresdner Philharmonie und dem SWR Symphonie Orchester. Des Weiteren ist er am Pult des Royal Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Iceland Symphony Orchestra und Odense Symphony Orchestra zu erleben. Wiedereinladungen führen ihn u.a. zum Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, Sonderjyllands Symphony Orchestra, Württembergisches Kammerorchester Heilbronn und Lapland Chamber Orchestra. In großen Teilen Asiens bereits gut etabliert, wird er im Oktober 2018 in einem Konzert mit dem Tokyo City Philharmonic Orchestra sein Japan-Debüt bestreiten. Er folgt Wiedereinladungen zum Taiwan Philharmonic, Shanghai Symphony Orchestra und Macao Orchestra, begleitet das Taipei Symphony Orchestra auf Tour in Taiwan und China und leitet das NCPA Orchestra in Beijing. Zum Ende der Saison führt ihn sein Weg erstmals nach Australien, wo er Konzerte mit Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra und dem Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra dirigiert.

2010 erhielt Chuang die Edwin B. Garrigues Fellowship des Curtis Institute of Music. Als einer der Mitorganisatoren stellte er ein Jahr später in Philadelphia das Curtis Japan Benefit Concert auf die Beine, dessen Einnahmen dem Roten Kreuz Japan als Hilfe für die Erdbebenopfer vom März 2011 gespendet wurden. 2012 initiierte er den ersten Orchester-Flashmob in Taiwan.

Tung-Chieh Chuang zeigte schon als Kind großes musisches Talent. Er entstammt einer Familie professioneller Musiker und lernte früh, Horn und Klavier zu spielen. Sein erstes öffentliches Konzert gab er mit 11 Jahren. Er studierte am Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia und an der Hochschule für Musik „Franz Liszt“ Weimar. Zu seinen Mentoren gehören Mark Gibson, Gustav Meier, Otto-Werner Mueller und Nicolás Pasquet.

Der 36-jährige Dirigent lebt mit seiner Familie in Berlin und ist Vater einer kleinen Tochter.

Aktuelle Konzerte