Marta Gardolińska

Marta Gardolińska

Marta Gardolińska was born in Warsaw, Poland, in 1988 and is currently Young Conductor in Association with the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra. She made her acclaimed BSO debut in October 2018 and will direct the orchestra in a variety of concerts and educational activities over the coming seasons.

In the 19/20 season, Marta will make her debut with the Los Angeles Philharmonic and the Royal Northern Sinfonia. Further highlights are the return to the podium for subscription concerts with the BSO and concerts with the Tonkünstler Orchestra.

In the summer of 2018 Marta made her festival and orchestral debut with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra to end the Edinburgh International Festival as part of the Virgin Money Fireworks Concert against the backdrop of Edinburgh Castle. Further professional engagements have taken her to ensembles such as the ORF Radio Symphony Orchestra Vienna, the symphony orchestra of the Teatro Lirico Giuseppe Verdi in Trieste, the Tonkünstler Orchestra, the symphony orchestra of the Poznan Opera and the National Chamber Orchestra of Armenia.

Inspired by the experience of singing in her school choir and fascinated by the colors of symphonic music, she studied conducting at the Frédéric Chopin Music University in Warsaw, the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna as well as in many master classes and workshops with artists such as Bernard Haitink, Peter Eötvös, Bertrand de Billy, György Kurtág and Marin Alsop.

In 2015 she was appointed chief conductor of the Academic Orchestra Association Vienna and was chief conductor and artistic director of the Vienna University of Technology in the 2017/18 season.
In addition to her work as a conductor of symphonic repertoire, she is also active in the field of opera. Since 2017 she has been working regularly as assistant to the conductor Tadeusz Kozłowski and is rediscovering forgotten opera masterpieces by Polish composers such as “Legenda Bałtyku” by Felix Nowowiejski and “Manru” by Ignacy Jan Paderewski. Between 2013 and 2015 she was the second conductor of the Johann Strauss Operetta Vienna and got to know the purest style of Viennese musical tradition.

Among her numerous awards she received an Honorable Mention and the Special Orchestra Prize of the Witold Lutosławski Conducting Competition in Białystok, Poland (2016), the 3rd Prize and the Special Orchestra Prize of the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy International Conducting Competition in Thessaloniki, Greece (2016) and she was one of eight Semi-finalists at the 1st International Conducting Competition in Hong Kong in 2018.

In 2016 Marta was awarded the title "Outstanding Polish Woman in Austria" for her efforts to promote Polish culture and music outside the country.

She was also named Associate Fellow for the 2017-2019 seasons by the Taki Concordia Conducting Fellowship, initiated by Marin Alsop.

Before deciding to become a musician, she did acrobatics, swimming and middle-distance running professionally for several years while studying the flute and piano at the same time.

Marta Gardolińska

Marta Gardolińska

Marta Gardolińska wurde 1988 in Warschau, Polen, geboren und ist derzeit Young Conductor in Association beim Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra. Im Oktober 2018 gab sie ihr gefeiertes Debüt beim BSO und wird das Orchester in den kommenden Spielzeiten bei einer Vielzahl von Konzerten und Bildungsaktivitäten leiten.

In der Saison 19/20 gibt Marta ihr Debüt mit der Los Angeles Philharmonic und der Royal Northern Sinfonia. Weitere Höhepunkte sind die Rückkehr auf das Podium für Abonnementkonzerte mit dem BSO und Konzerte mit dem Tonkünstler-Orchester.

Im Sommer 2018 gab Marta ihr Festival- und Orchesterdebüt mit dem Scottish Chamber Orchestra, um das Edinburgh International Festival im Rahmen des Virgin Money Fireworks Concert vor dem Hintergrund des Edinburgh Castle zu beenden. Weitere berufliche Engagements führten sie zu Ensembles wie dem ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien, dem Sinfonieorchester des Teatro Lirico Giuseppe Verdi in Triest, dem Tonkünstler-Orchester, dem Sinfonieorchester der Posener Oper und dem Nationalen Kammerorchester Armeniens.

Inspiriert von der Erfahrung des Singens in ihrem Schulchor und fasziniert von den Farben der symphonischen Musik, studierte sie Dirigieren an der Frédéric Chopin Musikuniversität Warschau, der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien sowie in vielen Meisterklassen und Workshops mit Künstler wie Bernard Haitink, Peter Eötvös, Bertrand de Billy, György Kurtág und Marin Alsop.

2015 wurde sie zur Chefdirigentin des Akademischen Orchestervereins Wien ernannt und war in der Saison 2017/18 als Chefdirigentin und künstlerische Leiterin des TU-Orchesters Wien tätig.

Neben ihrer Arbeit als Dirigentin sinfonischen Repertoires ist sie auch im Bereich der Oper tätig. Seit 2017 arbeitet sie regelmäßig als Assistentin des Dirigenten Tadeusz Kozłowski und entdeckt vergessene Opernmeisterwerke polnischer Komponisten wie „Legenda Bałtyku“ von Felix Nowowiejski und „Manru“ von Ignacy Jan Paderewski wieder. Zwischen 2013 und 2015 war sie als zweite Dirigentin bei der Johann-Strauss-Operette Wien tätig und lernte den reinsten Stil der Wiener Musiktradition kennen.

Unter ihren zahlreichen Auszeichnungen erhielt sie eine Ehrenwerte Erwähnung und den Sonderorchesterpreis des Dirigentenwettbewerbs Witold Lutosławski in Białystok, Polen (2016), den 3. Preis und den Sonderorchesterpreis des Internationalen Dirigentenwettbewerbs Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy in Thessaloniki, Griechenland (2016) und sie war eine von acht Halbfinalistinnen beim 1. Internationalen Dirigentenwettbewerb in Hongkong im Jahr 2018.

2016 wurde Marta für ihre Bemühungen, die polnische Kultur und Musik außerhalb des Landes bekannt zu machen, der Titel "Herausragende Polin in Österreich" verliehen.

Sie wurde auch von der Taki Concordia Conducting Fellowship, die von Marin Alsop ins Leben gerufen wurde, zur Associate Fellow für die Spielzeiten 2017-2019 ernannt.

Bevor sie sich entschied, Musikerin zu werden, betrieb sie mehrere Jahre Akrobatik, Schwimmen und Mittelstreckenlauf professionell, während sie gleichzeitig Flöte und Klavier studierte.