Thomas Hengelbrock

Thomas Hengelbrock

Thomas Hengelbrock is the founder and director of the Balthasar Neumann Ensembles and chief associé of the Orchester de Paris. He is one of the most outstanding opera and concert conductors of our time. His repertoire ranges from the music of the 17th century to contemporary works and includes all genres.

In 1991 he founded the Balthasar Neumann Choir, and in 1995 the orchestra of the same name, with both ensembles he caused a stir internationally and earned the highest recognition, including 2013 with Wagner's “Parsifal” in its original sound. As chief conductor of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra (2011-2018), he made a lasting impression on the orchestra's sound, conducted the opening of the Elbphilharmonie in 2017 and celebrated numerous international successes with concerts and tours.

Thomas Hengelbrock attaches great importance to working with young talent. As part of his Balthasar Neumann Academy, he works with students and gives master classes in Japan, Europe and Cuba. Due to his great commitment to music education, he was awarded the Herbert von Karajan Music Prize in 2016.

Thomas Hengelbrock

Thomas Hengelbrock

Thomas Hengelbrock ist Gründer und Leiter der Balthasar-Neumann-Ensembles und Chef associé des Orchestre de Paris. Er zählt zu den herausragenden Opern- und Konzertdirigenten unserer Zeit. Sein Repertoire reicht von der Musik des 17. Jahrhunderts bis hin zu zeitgenössischen Werken und umfasst alle Gattungen.

1991 gründete er den Balthasar-Neumann-Chor, 1995 das gleichnamige Orchester, mit beiden Ensembles sorgt er international für Aufsehen und erntet höchste Anerkennung, darunter 2013 mit Wagners „Parsifal“ im Originalklang. Als Chefdirigent des NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchesters (2011–2018) prägte er den Klang des Orchesters nachhaltig, dirigierte 2017 die Eröffnung der Elbphilharmonie und feierte mit Konzerten und Tourneen international zahlreiche Erfolge.

Thomas Hengelbrock legt großen Wert auf die Nachwuchsarbeit. Im Rahmen seiner Akademie Balthasar Neumann arbeitet er mit Student*innen und gibt Meisterkurse in Japan, Europa und auf Kuba. Aufgrund seines großen Engagements in der Musikvermittlung wurde ihm 2016 der Herbert von Karajan Musikpreis verliehen.