Anna Maria Jopek

Anna Maria Jopek

Anna Maria Jopek is one of the most charismatic and original voices in Poland. She is a passionate visionary, a composer, songwriter and improviser and was born into an artistic family – Anna Maria’s parents performed in the legendary Polish folk group “Mazowsze”. She is a classically trained pianist who graduated from the Fryderyk Chopin Academy of Music in Warsaw.

She has brought to life dozens of artistic projects, merging contrasting musical personalities, cultures and styles. Over her notable career, she has sold one million records and has won every prominent Polish music award possible. Jopek records and performs worldwide with outstanding local and international artists including Pat Metheny, Bobby McFerrin, Ivan Linz, Branford Marsalis, Nigel Kennedy, Richard Bona, Makoto Ozone and Sting.

In October 2018 Jopek released her album “Ulotne / Elusive”, performed together with Branford Marsalis, where they broadly interpret Slavic motifs in scales, poetics and moods. Jopek’s music is strongly inspired by traditional Polish themes.

Anna Maria Jopek

Anna Maria Jopek

Anna Maria Jopek ist eine der charismatischsten und originellsten Stimmen Polens. Sie ist eine leidenschaftliche Visionärin, Komponistin, Songwriter sowie Improvisatorin und wuchs in einer musikalischen Familie auf – ihre Eltern waren Teil der legendären polnischen Folk-Band Mazowsze. Sie genoss eine klassische Klavierausbildung und machte ihren Abschluss an der Fryderyk-Chopin-Musikuniversität Warschau.

Jopek hat dutzende künstlerische Projekte zum Leben erweckt und verbindet dabei eigentlich gegensätzliche musikalische Persönlichkeiten, Kulturen und Stile. Im Laufe ihrer beachtlichen Karriere hat sie eine Million Platten verkauft und jeden bedeutenden polnischen Musikpreis gewonnen, den es gibt. Ihre Auftritte führen sie um die Welt und sie performt mit bedeutenden lokalen und internationalen Künstlern wie Pat Metheny, Bobby McFerrin, Ivan Linz, Branford Marsalis, Nigel Kennedy, Richard Bona, Makoto Ozone und Sting.

Im Oktober 2018 veröffentlichte Jopek ihr Album „Ulotne/Elusive“, welches sie zusammen mit Branford Marsalis aufgenommen hat. Die beiden interpretieren darauf weitgehend slawische Motive. Anna Maria Jopeks Musik ist stark inspiriert von traditionellen polnischen Melodien.