Brian Jagde

Brian Jagde

American tenor Brian Jagde has emerged as one of the most engaging and exciting artists of his generation.

Jagde launches his 2018/19 season with a return to the San Francisco Opera as Cavaradossi in a new production of Puccini's Tosca. He then travels to London's Royal Opera House, starring as Don José in Bizet's Carmen, conducted by Keri-Lynn Wilson. He sings Calaf for the first time in Europe this season, in a new production of Puccini’s Turandot this January at Palermo's Teatro Massimo.

In 2019, Brian Jagde embarks on a series of greatly anticipated house and role debuts. He will sing Turiddu in Mascagni's Cavalleria Rusticana and Luigi in Puccini's Il Tabarro for the first time, in concert with the Dresdner Philharmonie and conductor Marek Janowski. These performances will be recorded for a future album release. Jagde then sings his first Enzo Grimaldi in Ponchielli's La Gioconda at the Gran Teatre del Liceu, marking his house and role debut. In the summer of 2019, Mr. Jagde makes his first appearance with the Opéra National de Paris, debuting as Don Alvaro in Verdi's epic La forza del Destino at the Opéra Bastille, under the baton of Maestro Nicola Luisotti.

Past seasons have featured his Metropolitan Opera debut as Count Elemer (Arabella); his appearance as Don José at San Francisco Opera, Deutsche Oper Berlin, and Opéra de Limoges; as Cavaradossi at Santa Fe Opera and Deutsche Oper Berlin; and the Prince (Rusalka) and Narraboth (Salome) at Opera San Antonio. He was also seen as Pinkerton at San Francisco Opera; Matteo (Arabella) and Bacchus with Minnesota Opera; Rodolfo with the Münchner Philharmoniker and the Castleton Festival; and Narraboth at Santa Fe Opera. Jagde made his European debut in the title role of Werther and as Macduff at the Teatr Wielki Opera Poznan in Poland.

In addition to his arts education efforts with various organizations and schools, Mr. Jagde serves on the Advisory Board for “Time in Kids”, a NY-based non-profit providing arts access to at-risk children.

Jagde has received numerous accolades, including top prize at the Loren L. Zachary Competition (2014) and second prize in Plácido Domingo’s Operalia Competition (2012). Jagde won additional honors at Operalia for his interpretations of Wagner and Strauss repertoire, receiving the Birgit Nilsson Prize. He is a graduate of San Francisco Opera’s Adler and Merola Programs.

Brian Jagde was born and raised just outside of New York City, where he currently resides.

Aktuelle Konzerte

Brian Jagde

Brian Jagde

Der amerikanische Tenor Brian Jagde hat sich zu einem der fesselndsten und aufregendsten Künstler seiner Generation entwickelt.

Jagde beginnt die Spielzeit 2018/19 mit seiner Rückkehr an die San Francisco Opera als Cavaradossi in einer Neuauflage von Puccinis Tosca. Er reist dann weiter nach London an das Royal Opera House, wo er unter der Leitung von Keri-Lynn Wilson als Don José in Bizets Carmen zu sehen sein wird. Außerdem wird er am Teatro Massimo in Palermo in Puccinos Turandot zum ersten Mal in seiner Karriere als Calaf in Europa auftreten.

2019 hält außerdem einige Haus- und Rollendebüts für Jagde bereit. So wird er unter anderem in einer Aufführung mit der Dresdner Philharmonie unter Marek Janowski Turiddu in Mascagnis Cavalleria Rusticana und Luigi in Puccinis Il Tabarro singen. Der Auftritt wird für eine in der Zukunft erscheinende CD aufgezeichnet werden. Weiter wird Jagde den Enzo Grimaldi in Ponchiellis La Gioconda am Gran Teatre del Liceu geben. Im Sommer 2019 debütiert er außerdem als Don Alvaro in Verdis La forza del Destina unter Maestro Nicola Luisotti an der Opéra National de Paris.

In vergangenen Spielzeiten gab Jagde unter anderem sein Hausdebüt an der Metropolitain Opera als Count Elemer in Arabella, trat als Don José an der San Francisco Opera, der Deutschen Oper Berlin und der Opéra de Limoges auf, und war als der Prinz in Rusalka sowie als Narraboth in Salome an der Opera San Antonio zu sehen.

Jagde setzt sich stark für verschiedene Bildungsprojekte ein und sitzt im Beirat von „Time in Kids“, einer Non-Profit-Organisation aus New York, welche benachteiligten Kindern Zugang zu Kunst und Kultur bietet.

Brian Jagde wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, unter anderem dem Ersten Preis beim Loren L. Zachary Wettbewerb 2014 und dem Zweiten Preis beim Plácido Domingo Operalia Wettbewerb 2012. Außerdem wurde ihm beim Operalia ebenfalls der Birgit-Nilsson-Preis für seine Interpretationen von Wagners und Strauss‘ Repertoire verliehen. Jagde hat das Adler- und das Merola-Programm der San Francisco Opera abgeschlossen.

Brian Jagde ist am Rande von New York City geboren und aufgewachsen, und lebt auch heute noch dort.

Aktuelle Konzerte