Lester Lynch

Lester Lynch

Lester Lynch, an established dramatic baritone, is making his mark in some of the world’s leading opera houses. Known for his charismatic portrayals and commanding voice, he is receiving rave reviews as he masters some of the most important baritone roles from Scarpia to Rigoletto to Count di Luna.

His most recent performances include Lescaut in Puccini’s Manon Lescaut under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle with the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Crown in Porgy and Bess with the Opéra de Montréal, Amonasro in Verdi’s Aida with Pittsburgh Opera, and Nottingham in Roberto Devereaux as well as Count Di Luna in Il Trovatore with the Minnesota Opera. His latest debuts include a back-to-back engagement with the Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian in Portugal where he was featured as Iago in Verdi’s Otello and in the title role of Verdi’s Falstaff.

Upcoming performances include Nabucco with the Welsh National Opera, Amonasro with the Bergen National Opera in Norway, and Shylock in The Merchant of Venice with the Warsaw National Opera. Upcoming recordings include Iago in Verdi’s Otello, Porgy in Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess and a Verissimo French Aria CD to be recorded by Pentatone Classics.

Mr. Lynch has worked with some of the world’s most renowned conductors and directors such as Sir Andrew Davis, Placido Domingo, and John DeMain, as well as Sir Richard Eyre, Christopher Alden and Francesca Zambello.

His performance of Crown in Porgy and Bess at the San Francisco Opera was recently released on DVD. Pentatone Classics has released his recordings of two operas by the contemporary composer Gordon Getty – the title role in Plumpjack, and Cauchon in Joan and the Bells. Another important release is a recording of Mahler’s Symphony No.8 conducted by JoAnn Falletta.

An accomplished concert artist, Mr. Lynch has performed a wide and varied repertoire with orchestras across the world, including the Berlin Philharmonic, the New York Philharmonic, the National Symphony Orchestra, Houston Symphony Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra, and the American Symphony Orchestra. His recent Carnegie Hall solo debut of Karl A. Hartmann’s Gesangsszene with the American Symphony Orchestra received rave reviews.

Mr. Lynch has received many distinguished awards, including the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions, the George London Vocal Competition, and the Sullivan Awards. His work with Opera Theatre of Saint Louis earned him the Richard Gaddes Award.

His recent volunteer work includes two engagements with the Harare International Festival of Art in Zimbabwe in 2012 and 2013 where he produced a night of arias and ensembles with a group of his colleagues.

Aktuelle Konzerte

Lester Lynch

Lester Lynch

Lester Lynch, ein anerkannter Bariton, verleiht einigen der großen Opernhäuser dieser Welt seine ganz eigene Note. Bekannt für seine charismatischen Darstellungen und seine markante Stimme, erhält er weltweit glänzende Kritiken für seine Auftritte in einigen der wichtigsten Bariton-Rollen, von Scarpia über Rigoletto bis Count di Luna.

Zu seinen jüngsten Performances zählen Lescaut in Puccinis Manon Lescaut mit dem Festspielhaus Baden-Baden unter dem Dirigat von Sir Simon Rattle, Crown in Porgy and Bess mit der Opéra de Montréal, Amonasro in Verdis Aida mit der Pittsburgh Opera, und Nottingham in Roberto Devereaux sowie Count di Luna in Il Trovatore mit der Minnesota Opera. Mit der portugiesischen Calouste-Gulbenkian-Stiftung gab er aufeinanderfolgende Debüts als Iago in Verdis Otello und in der Hauptrolle in Falstaff.

Kommende Engagements sind unter anderem Nabucco mit der Welsh National Opera, Amonasro mit der Bergen National Opera, und Shylock in Der Kaufmann von Venedig mit der Warschauer Nationaloper. Außerdem wird er Verdis Iago aus Otello, Gershwins Porgy aus Porgy and Bess sowie eine CD mit französischen Arien beim Label Pentatone Classics aufnehmen.

Lynch hat mit einigen der weltweit anerkanntesten Dirigenten und Regisseuren zusammengearbeitet: Sir Andrew Davis, Placido Domingo, und John DeMain, sowie Sir Richard Eyre, Christopher Alden und Francesca Zambello.

Sein Auftritt als Crown in Porgy and Bess mit der San Francisco Opera erschien kürzlich auf DVD. Pentatone Classics veröffentlichte außerdem seine Aufnahmen zweier Opern des zeitgenössischen Komponisten Gordon Getty: die Hauptrolle aus Plumpjack und Cauchon in Joan and the Bells. Eine weitere nennenswerte Veröffentlichung ist die von Mahlers 8. Sinfonie unter dem Dirigat von JoAnn Falletta.

Als versierter Konzertkünstler hat Lynch ein breites und vielseitiges Repertoire mit Orchestern weltweit zur Aufführung gebracht: er stand unter anderem mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, den New Yorker Philharmonikern, dem National Symphony Orchestra, dem Houston Symphony Orchestra, dem Cleveland Orchestra und dem American Symphony Orchestra auf der Bühne. Sein kürzlich erfolgtes Solo-Debüt in der Carnegie Hall mit Karl A. Hartmanns Gesangsszene gemeinsam mit dem American Symphony Orchestra wurde mit glänzenden Kritiken bedacht.

Lynch wurde mit vielen renommierten Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter der der Metropolitan Opera National Council Audition, der des George London Gesangwettbewerbs und der Sullivan Award. Seine Arbeit mit dem Opera Theatre of Saint Louis brachte ihm den Richard Gaddes Award.

Seine Freiwilligenprojekte umfassen unter anderem zwei Engagements beim Harare International Festival of Arts in Zimbabwe 2012 und 2013, bei denen er gemeinsam mit einer Gruppe von Kollegen eine Nacht voller Arien und Ensembles kreierte.

Aktuelle Konzerte