Dejan Lazić

Dejan Lazić

"The fact is that his fantastic sound culture, virtuosity and expressiveness (...) were not audible for a long time, especially in the younger generation of pianists"
- Deutschlandradio Kultur

Dejan Lazić's refreshing interpretations of the piano repertoire make him one of the most extraordinary artists of his generation. Der Spiegel wrote about Lazić's Liszt recording for Onyx Classics (April 2017): “Grandiose, dexterous, committed and witty, at the same time full of depth: this longitudinal section through Liszt's oeuvre is a gift for beginners as well as connoisseurs”. In autumn 2017 Dejan recorded Beethoven's own arrangement of his violin concerto as a piano concerto in D major, op.61a, during a tour with the Dutch chamber orchestra and violinist Gordan Nikolić - this CD was released by Onyx Classics in May 2018.

Dejan's live recording of Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 2 with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Kirill Petrenko was awarded the “Echo Klassik” in 2009, and a CD with Beethoven's Triple Concerto was released in 2015 by Sony Music. He has released numerous CDs with Channel Classics, including the critically acclaimed Liaisons series.

Dejan Lazić conducts orchestras such as the Atlanta Symphony, Australian Chamber Orchestra, Boston Symphony, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Danish National Symphony, Helsinki Philharmonic, Chamber Orchestra Basel, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester Hamburg, Netherlands Philharmonic, Rotterdam Philharmonic as well the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Concert tours take him regularly to Asia, where he could be heard on a China tour with the Budapest Festival Orchestra and Iván Fischer. He has worked well and for many years with conductors such as Giovanni Antonini, Iván Fischer, Michael Francis, Andris Nelsons, Thomas Søndergård, Robert Spano, John Storgards, Krzysztof Urbański, Jan Willem de Vriend and Kazuki Yamada.

Dejan Lazić is also active as a composer. He has been under contract with the Sikorski music publishers since 2015. His arrangement of Brahms ’Violin Concerto for Piano and Orchestra premiered in 2009 with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Robert Spano and was published by Sikorski. He played it a.o. at the BBC Proms, in the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, the Chopin Festival Warsaw, at the Hamburger Ostertönen, in North and South America and in Japan. Since the premiere at the Aspen Music Festival in 2014 he has played his “Piano Concerto in the Istrian Style”, op. In April 2017 his tone poem, “Mozart and Salieri” (inspired by Alexander Pushkin), op. 21, was premiered by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Krzysztof Urbański.
With four colleagues Lazić composed the work “Forellenteich”, which premiered in October 2018 and was recorded on CD.

Lazić is currently working on his “Chinese Fantasy” for violin and orchestra, op. 22. His “SCHErzo” for orchestra, op. 25, commissioned by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, was written by the same (under the direction of Krzysztof Urbański) on First performed January 17, 2020.

Dejan Lazić was born in Zagreb, Croatia, into a family of musicians. He grew up in Salzburg, where he studied at the Mozarteum (clarinet, piano and composition). The early encounter with Zoltán Kocsis and Imre Rohmann at the Bartók Festival in Hungary was decisive for his artistic career, and there he also received important impulses from Peter Eötvös. Today Dejan Lazić lives in Amsterdam.

Dejan Lazić

Dejan Lazić

„Tatsache ist, dass seine so fantastische Klangkultur, Virtuosität und Ausdruckskraft (…) gerade in der jüngeren Pianistengeneration lange nicht hörbar waren“
– Deutschlandradio Kultur

Dejan Lazićs erfrischende Interpretationen des Klavierrepertoires machen ihn zu einem der außergewöhnlichsten Künstler seiner Generation. Der Spiegel schrieb über Lazićs Liszt Aufnahme für Onyx Classics (April 2017): “Grandios fingerfertig, engagiert und gewitzt, dabei voller Tiefgang: Dieser Längsschnitt durch Liszts Œuvre ist ein Geschenk, für Einsteiger wie für Kenner”. Im Herbst 2017 hat Dejan während einer Tournee mit dem Niederländischen Kammerorchester und dem Violinisten Gordan Nikolić Beethovens eigene Bearbeitung seines Violinkonzerts als Klavierkonzert in D-Dur, op. 61a, aufgenommen — diese CD erschien im Mai 2018 bei Onyx Classics.

Dejans Live-Aufnahme von Rachmaninoffs Klavierkonzert Nr. 2 mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra und Kirill Petrenko wurde mit dem “Echo Klassik” 2009 ausgezeichnet, eine CD mit Beethovens Tripelkonzert ist 2015 bei Sony Music erschienen. Bei Channel Classics hat er zahlreiche CDs veröffentlicht, darunter die von Kritikern hochgelobte Reihe “Liaisons”.

Dejan Lazić dirigiert Orchester wie das Atlanta Symphony, Australian Chamber Orchestra, Boston Symphony, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Danish National Symphony, Helsinki Philharmonic, Kammerorchester Basel, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester Hamburg, Netherlands Philharmonic, Rotterdam Philharmonic sowie das Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra.
Konzertreisen führen ihn regelmäßig nach Asien, wo er auf einer China-Tournee mit dem Budapest Festival Orchestra und Iván Fischer zu hören war, unter anderem tritt er auch mit dem NHK Symphony, Yomiuri Nippon, Seoul Philharmonic und Hong Kong Philharmonic auf. Mit Dirigenten wie Giovanni Antonini, Iván Fischer, Michael Francis, Andris Nelsons, Thomas Søndergård, Robert Spano, John Storgards, Krzysztof Urbański, Jan Willem de Vriend und Kazuki Yamada verbindet ihn eine gute und langjährige Zusammenarbeit.

Dejan Lazić ist auch als Komponist aktiv. Seit 2015 ist er bei den Sikorski Musikverlagen unter Vertrag. Sein Arrangement von Brahms’ Violinkonzert für Klavier und Orchester wurde 2009 mit dem Atlanta Symphony Orchestra und Robert Spano uraufgeführt und bei Sikorski veröffentlicht. Er spielte es u.a. bei den BBC Proms, im Concertgebouw Amsterdam, dem Chopin Festival Warschau, bei den Hamburger Ostertönen, in Nord- und Südamerika und in Japan. Sein “Klavierkonzert im Istrischen Stil”, op. 18, hat er seit der Uraufführung beim Aspen Music Festival in 2014 mehrmals gespielt. Im April 2017 wurde seine Tondichtung, “Mozart und Salieri” (inspiriert durch Alexander Puschkin), op. 21, durch das Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von Krzysztof Urbański, uraufgeführt.
Mit vier Kollegen komponierte Lazić das Werk „Forellenteich“, das im Oktober 2018 uraufgeführt sowie auf eine CD eingespielt wurde.
Derzeit arbeitet Lazić an seiner “Chinesischen Fantasie” für Violine und Orchester, op. 22. Sein “S.C.H.E.rzo” für Orchester, op. 25, vom Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra in Auftrag gegeben, wurde von ebendem (unter der Leitung von Krzysztof Urbański) am 17. Januar 2020 uraufgeführt.

Dejan Lazić wurde in Zagreb, Kroatien, in eine Musiker-Familie geboren. Er wuchs in Salzburg auf, wo er am Mozarteum (Klarinette, Klavier  und  Komposition) studierte.  Die frühe Begegnung mit Zoltán Kocsis und Imre Rohmann beim Bartók Festival in Ungarn war ausschlaggebend für seinen künstlerischen Werdegang, außerdem erhielt er dort wichtige Impulse von Peter Eötvös. Heute lebt Dejan Lazić in Amsterdam.