Gilles Grimaître

Gilles Grimaître

Gilles Grimaître is a Swiss pianist, improviser, performer and composer.

He studied at the Bern University of the Arts with Prof. Pierre Sublet. As a minor he studied organ with Pascale van Coppenolle and composition with Xavier Dayer. In 2013/2014 he received a scholarship from the International Ensemble Modern Academy in Frankfurt / Main. He received lessons from Michel Dalberto, Nicolas Hodges, Florence Millet, Ueli Wiget, Hermann Kretzschmar and Hideki Nagano.

Gilles Grimaître gives concerts in Europe and around the world as a soloist and chamber musician. He is a member of the Collegium Novum Zurich, Ensemble L'Imaginaire, neuverBand, pre-art soloists and plays regularly with the Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Contrechamps, Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain (NEC), Tonhalle Orchester Zurich, Camerata Bern, Basel Sinfonietta, Sinfonie Orchester Biel and the Ensemble Proton.

He is a founding member of the HYPER DUO with the percussionist Julien Mégroz, the Ensemble Lemniscate, the Antoine, Françoise, Gilles & Grimaître piano duo and the Duo Orion with the cellist Elsa Dorbath.

In 2012 he took part in the Lucerne Festival Academy, where he performed the solo piano part in Charles Ives ’Fourth Symphony under the direction of Peter Eötvös. Recently played as a soloist with the Tonhalle Orchestra under the direction of Herbert Blomstedt. Gilles Grimaître will premiere Hanspeter Kyburz's new piano concerto in spring 2021.

His concert activities have taken him to festivals such as the DAVOS Young Artists in Residence (CH), Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (EN), Tzlil Meudcan (ISR), Thailand International Composition Festival, Musikprotokoll (DE), Ruhrtriennale (DE), Wien Modern (AUT ), Festival ManiFeste (FR), ppIANISSIMO Festival (BG), Slowind Festival (SVN), SONEMUS Festival (BA).
As a passionate improviser he can be heard in various line-ups for free improvisation, as well as in the experimental rock band HYPER LACHAISE.

In 2013 he won first prize at the Nicati Competition for the Interpretation of Contemporary Music.

Gilles Grimaître

Gilles Grimaître

Gilles Grimaître ist ein Schweizer Pianist, Improvisator, Performer und Komponist.

Er studierte an der Hochschule der Künste Bern mit Prof. Pierre Sublet. Im Nebenfach studierte er Orgel bei Pascale van Coppenolle und Komposition bei Xavier Dayer. 2013/2014 war er Stipendiat der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie in Frankfurt/Main. Er erhielt Unterricht von Michel Dalberto, Nicolas Hodges, Florence Millet, Ueli Wiget, Hermann Kretzschmar und Hideki Nagano.

Gilles Grimaître konzertiert in Europa und in der ganzen Welt als Solist und Kammermusiker. Er ist Mitglied des Collegium Novum Zürich, Ensemble L’Imaginaire, neuverBand, pre-art Soloists und spielt regelmässig beim Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Contrechamps, Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain (NEC), Tonhalle Orchester Zürich, Camerata Bern, Basel Sinfonietta, Sinfonie Orchester Biel und dem Ensemble Proton.

Er ist Gründungsmitglied des HYPER DUO mit dem Percussionisten Julien Mégroz, des Ensemble Lemniscate, des Antoine, Françoise, Gilles & Grimaître Klavierduo und des Duo Orion mit der Cellistin Elsa Dorbath.

2012 nahm er an der Lucerne Festival Academy teil, wo er den Solo-Klavierpart in Charles Ives’ Vierter Sinfonie unter der Leitung von Peter Eötvös interpretierte. Vor kurzem spielte als Solist mit dem Tonhalle Orchester unter der Leitung von Herbert Blomstedt. Im Frühjahr 2021 wird Gilles Grimaître das neue Klavierkonzert von Hanspeter Kyburz uraufführen.

Seine Konzerttätigkeit führte ihn zu Festivals wie dem DAVOS Young Artists in Residence (CH), Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (EN), Tzlil Meudcan (ISR), Thailand International Composition Festival, Musikprotokoll (DE), Ruhrtriennale (DE), Wien Modern (AUT), Festival ManiFeste (FR), ppIANISSIMO Festival (BG), Slowind Festival (SVN), SONEMUS Festival (BA).

Als leidenschaftlicher Improvisator ist er in verschiedenen Besetzungen für freie Improvisation zu hören, als auch in der experimentellen rock Band HYPER LACHAISE.

2013 gewann er den ersten Preis beim Nicati Wettbewerb für Interpretation zeitgenössischer Musik.