Bruno Borralhinho

Bruno Borralhinho

in the orchestra since 2007

Bruno Borralhinho was born in Portugal in 1982, is a cellist with the Dresden Philharmonic and artistic director of the Ensemble Mediterrain.
He studied from 1994 to 2000 with Luis Sá Pessoa in Portugal and from 2000 to 2006 with Markus Nyikos at the Berlin University of the Arts. In 2004 he passed the artistic diploma there and in 2006 the concert exam with distinction. He then studied in Oslo with the renowned cellist Truls Mørk. He also attended master classes including with N. Gutman, A. Meneses, P. Wispelwey, A. Bylsma, J. Wang, M. Ostertag, M. Löhr, M. Carneiro and Thomas Demenga. In 2011 Bruno Borralhinho obtained a master's degree in cultural management from the Universitat Oberta de Catalunya (Barcelona). He is currently a PhD student (humanities) at the Universidad Carlos III (Madrid).

During his studies he received 1st prize in the Concurso Júlio Cardona and 1st prize in the Prémio Jovens Músicos. As a soloist he played with the Gulbenkian Orchestra Lisbon, Orquestra Clássica do Centro, Orquestra do Norte, Orquestra Clássica do Sul, Orquestra XXI and Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa. He was a member of the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra and solo cellist in the Jeunesses Musicales World Youth Orchestra. In 2003 he was an intern at the DSO - the German Symphony Orchestra Berlin and from 2004-2006 a member of the Orchestra Academy of the Staatskapelle Berlin.

The orchestra direction is also part of the broad artistic profile of Bruno Borralhinho - among other things he performed as a conductor with the Orquestra Clássica do Sul (PT), the Orquestra Clássica do Centro (PT), the Orquestra Clássica da Madeira (PT), the Ensemble Mediterrain (DE), the Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinu Zlín (CZ) and the Berliner Symphoniker ( DE). His active and broad artistic activity also includes frequent solo evenings, solo concerts with orchestra or recitals with piano in Portugal, Spain, Germany and Brazil. His interpretations of Bach's Six Suites for violoncello (solo) on the Montagnana Suggia (Lissbaon, 2008) and all of Beethoven's works for violoncello and piano on the Stradivarius "King of Portugal" (Lisbon, 2012) were critically acclaimed. He also led master classes in Brazil, Portugal and Spain.

In 2009, Bruno Borralhinho and pianist Luísa Tender released the double CD "Pagina Esquecida" (Forgotten Page), which is entirely dedicated to Portuguese music. It received rave reviews in the national and international press. In 2016 NAXOS will release a new CD with Portuguese works for cello and orchestra. Bruno Borralhinho will then be accompanied by the Gulbenkian Orchestra Lisbon under the direction of Pedro Neves.


Homepage of Bruno Borralhinho

Aktuelle Konzerte

Bruno Borralhinho

Bruno Borralhinho

im Orchester seit 2007

Bruno Borralhinho wurde 1982 in Portugal geboren, ist Cellist der Dresdner Philharmonie (seit 2007) und Künstlerischer Leiter des Ensemble Mediterrain.
Er studierte von 1994 bis 2000 bei Luis Sá Pessoa in Portugal und von 2000 bis 2006 bei Markus Nyikos an der Universität der Künste Berlin. 2004 legte er dort das künstlerische Diplom und 2006 das Konzertexamen mit Auszeichnung ab. Danach studiert er in Oslo bei dem renommierten Cellisten Truls Mørk. Er besuchte außerdem Meisterkurse u.a. bei N. Gutman, A. Meneses, P. Wispelwey, A. Bylsma, J. Wang, M. Ostertag, M. Löhr, M. Carneiro und Thomas Demenga. 2011 erlangte Bruno Borralhinho einen Master in Kulturmanagement an der Universitat Oberta de Catalunya (Barcelona). Gegenwärtig ist er Doktorand (Geisteswissenschaften) an der Universidad Carlos III (Madrid).

Während des Studiums erhielt er den 1. Preis im Concurso Júlio Cardona und auch den 1. Preis im Prémio Jovens Músicos. Als Solist spielte er mit dem Gulbenkian Orchester Lissabon, Orquestra Clássica do Centro, Orquestra do Norte, Orquestra Clássica do Sul, Orquestra XXI und Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa. Er war Mitglied des Gustav Mahler Jugendorchesters und Solocellist im Jeunesses Musicales Weltjugendorchester. 2003 war er Praktikant im DSO – dem Deutschen Symphonie Orchester Berlin und 2004-2006 Mitglied der Orchester-Akademie der Staatskapelle Berlin.

Zum breit gefächerten künstlerischen Profil von Bruno Borralhinho gehört auch die Orchesterleitung – so trat er u.a. als Dirigent mit dem Orquestra Clássica do Sul (PT), dem Orquestra Clássica do Centro (PT), dem Orquestra Clássica da Madeira (PT), dem Ensemble Mediterrain (DE), der Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinu Zlín (CZ) und den Berliner Symphonikern (DE) auf. Seine aktive und breite künstlerische Tätigkeit beinhaltet außerdem häufige Solo-Abende, Solo-Konzerte mit Orchester oder Recitals mit Klavier in Portugal, Spanien, Deutschland und Brasilien. Seine Interpretationen von Bachs Sechs Suiten für Violoncello (Solo) auf dem Montagnana Suggia (Lissbaon, 2008) und von Beethovens sämtlichen Werken für Violoncello und Klavier auf dem Stradivari "König von Portugal" (Lissabon, 2012) wurden von der Kritik bejubelt. Zudem leitete er Meisterkurse in Brasilien, Portugal und Spanien.

2009 veröffentlichte Bruno Borralhinho mit der Pianistin Luísa Tender die ganz der portugiesischen Musik gewidmete Doppel-CD "Pagina Esquecida" (Vergessene Seite). Sie erhielt begeisterte Kritiken in der nationalen und internationalen Presse. 2016 erscheint bei NAXOS eine neue CD mit portugiesischen Werken für Cello und Orchester. Darauf wird Bruno Borralhinho vom Gulbenkian Orchester Lissabon unter der Leitung von Pedro Neves begleitet.

Homepage von Bruno Borralhinho