Wolfgang Behrend

Wolfgang Behrend

Wolfgang Behrend was born in Dresden and began his musical training on the piano. His artistic development was significantly shaped by GMD Prof. Rolf Reuter, with whom he studied conducting at the Hanns Eisler Music Academy in Berlin.


From 1989 to 1998 Wolfgang Behrend was engaged on the stages of the city of Zwickau and at the Chemnitz Opera House. During this time he was able to work with soloists and orchestras such as the Robert Schumann Philharmonic, which he has conducted in numerous concerts and performances, offers an extensive opera and concert repertoire. At the same time he led the Saxon Symphony Orchestra Chemnitz and gave successful concerts with it at home and abroad.


Following his intense desire for extensive artistic freedom, in 1998 Behrend took the step into self-employment as a freelance conductor. From 2001 to 2011 he was artistic director of the German-Polish youth orchestra Görlitz / Zgorzelec, and in 2002 he followed the call to conduct the "medicanti", the orchestra at the Medical Faculty of the TU Dresden, whose artistic potential he sustainably promoted. Through his work, he developed this ensemble from a chamber orchestra to a successful symphony orchestra within a few years.


Wolfgang Behrend sees an important task in his intensive pedagogical work in order to pass on what he has learned to the next generation. For this purpose he has been teaching at the Dresden Music Academy since 2003. In 2005 he was appointed artistic director of the “LandStreicher Sachsen” by the Saxon Music Council, a nationwide unique youth orchestra in which musically gifted children aged 10 to 14 from all over Saxony are introduced to orchestral music. At the beginning of the 2011/2012 school year, he also took on the post of artistic director of the “Young Symphony Orchestra Dresden” at the Saxon State High School for Music.


Wolfgang Behrend has been the choir conductor of the Dresden Kreuzchor since October 2017.

Aktuelle Konzerte

Wolfgang Behrend

Wolfgang Behrend

Wolfgang Behrend wurde in Dresden geboren und begann seine musikalische Ausbildung am Klavier. Seine künstlerische Entwicklung wurde maßgeblich durch GMD Prof. Rolf Reuter geprägt, bei dem er an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ Berlin Dirigieren studierte.

In den Jahren 1989 bis 1998 war Wolfgang Behrend an den Bühnen der Stadt Zwickau und am Opernhaus Chemnitz engagiert. Während dieser Zeit hat er sich in der Arbeit mit Solisten und Orchestern, wie z.B. der Robert-Schumann-Philharmonie, die er in zahlreichen Konzerten und Vorstellungen dirigierte, ein umfangreiches Opern- und Konzertrepertoire angeeignet. Parallel dazu leitete er das Sächsische Sinfonieorchester Chemnitz und gab mit diesem erfolgreiche Konzerte im In- und Ausland.

Seinem intensiven Wunsch nach weitreichender künstlerischer Freiheit folgend, ging Wolfgang Behrend 1998 den Schritt in die Selbstständigkeit als freischaffender Dirigent. Er war unter anderem von 2001 bis 2011 künstlerischer Leiter des Deutsch-Polnischen Jugendorchesters Görlitz/Zgorzelec. 2002 folgte er dem Ruf als Dirigent der „medicanti“, dem Orchester an der Medizinischen Fakultät der TU Dresden, dessen künstlerisches Potenzial er nachhaltig förderte. So entwickelte er diesen Klangkörper durch sein Wirken innerhalb weniger Jahre von einem Kammerorchester zu einem erfolgreichen Sinfonieorchester.

Eine wichtige Aufgabe sieht Wolfgang Behrend in seiner intensiven pädagogischen Betätigung, um das selbst Erfahrene an die nachfolgende Generation weiterzugeben. Seit 2003 hat er einen Lehrauftrag an der Dresdner Musikhochschule inne. Im Jahr 2005 wurde er vom Sächsischen Musikrat zum Künstlerischen Leiter der „LandStreicher Sachsen“ berufen, einem bundesweit einmaligen Nachwuchsorchester, in dem musikalisch hochbegabte Kinder im Alter von 10 bis 14 Jahren aus ganz Sachsen an das Orchestermusizieren herangeführt werden. Mit Beginn des Schuljahres 2011/2012 übernahm er zudem das Amt des Künstlerischen Leiters des „Jungen Sinfonieorchesters Dresden“ am Sächsischen Landesgymnasium für Musik.

Seit Oktober 2017 ist Wolfgang Behrend Chordirigent des Dresdner Kreuzchores.