Bernhard Haas

Bernhard Haas

From 1989 to 1995 Bernhard Haas taught organ and organ improvisation at the Musikhochschule in Saarbrücken. In 1994 he was appointed professor for organ at the State University for Music and Performing Arts in Stuttgart. In the 2012/2013 academic year he moved to the Munich University of Music and Theater, where he succeeded Edgar Krapp.
Concert tours and radio recordings have taken him to almost all European countries, the USA and Japan, where he also gives courses and works as a juror at renowned organ competitions.

Bernhard Haas' main interests are 17th century music, J. S. Bach, Mozart, 19th century and contemporary music. He has made CD recordings with works by Liszt, Reger, Stravinsky, Ferneyhough, Feldman and Xenakis. He has also appeared as a music theorist with several publications.
Bernhard Haas studied church music, organ, piano, harpsichord, composition and music theory at the music academies in Cologne, Freiburg and Vienna. He has won numerous prizes at international organ competitions, including first prize in the 1988 Liszt Competition in Budapest.

Bernhard Haas

Bernhard Haas

Von 1989 bis 1995 unterrichtete Bernhard Haas Orgel und Orgelimprovisation an der Musikhochschule in Saarbrücken. 1994 wurde er zum Professor für Orgel an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Stuttgart ernannt. Zum Studienjahr 2012/2013 wechselte er an die Hochschule für Musik und Theater München und trat dort die Nachfolge von Edgar Krapp an.

Konzertreisen und Rundfunkaufnahmen führten ihn durch nahezu alle europäischen Länder, in die USA und nach Japan, wo er auch Kurse gibt und als Juror bei renommierten Orgelwettbewerben tätig ist.

Bernhard Haas' Hauptinteressen sind die Musik des 17. Jahrhunderts, J. S. Bach, Mozart, das 19. Jahrhundert und zeitgenössische Musik. Er hat CD-Aufnahmen mit Werken von Liszt, Reger, Strawinski, Ferneyhough, Feldman und Xenakis eingespielt. Auch als Musiktheoretiker ist er mit mehreren Publikationen in Erscheinung getreten.

Bernhard Haas studierte Kirchenmusik, Orgel, Klavier, Cembalo, Komposition und Musiktheorie an den Musikhochschulen in Köln, Freiburg und Wien. Er gewann zahlreiche Preise bei internationalen Orgelwettbewerben, darunter den ersten Preis 1988 beim Liszt-Wettbewerb in Budapest.